Tom Resler

tom

Department of Physics

Institute of Experimental Physics

Experimental Molecular Biophysics

Address Arnimallee 14
Room 1.1.36
14195 Berlin
Telephone (030) 838-56164
Email tom.resler@fu-berlin.de

Hi, my name is Tom Resler, I was born on the island Rügen in the Baltic Sea in 1986. After the wall came down we moved to the island Borkum in the North Sea where I was grown up. I studied physics at the Freie Universität in Berlin and started my PhD in the group of Prof. Heberle in 2012.

The goal of my research is to achieve an atomistic understanding of the proton transfer reactions in Channelrhodopsin-2 (ChR2) and how these linked to the mechanism of ion gating. This membrane protein is a light-gated cation-selective channel from the algae Chlamydomonas Reinhardtii. It is used as an optogenetic tool to elicit action potentials by light.

Based on light-induced Fourier transform infrared (FTIR) difference spectroscopy I try to explore the kinetics on the transient changes by rapid scan and step scan technique. For band assignment different variants of ChR2 are used. Complementary I use UV/Vis spectroscopy to obtain the kinetics and to characterize the intermediate state of the photo cycle. All techniques cover the whole time range from 10 ns up to minutes. In addition pH indicating dyes are used to report proton release and uptake from the aqueous medium.

Tom Resler

tom

Fachbereich Physik

Institut für experimentelle Physik

Experimentelle Molekulare Biophysik

Adresse Arnimallee 14
Raum 1.1.36
14195 Berlin
Telefon (030) 838-56164
E-Mail tom.resler@fu-berlin.de
Hallo, mein Name ist Tom Resler. Ich wurde 1986 in Bergen auf Rügen geboren und bin nach der Wende auf der Nordseeinsel Borkum aufgewachsen. Nach meinem Abitur in Esens habe ich mein Physik Studium an der Freien Universität im Jahr 2006 begonnen und seit 2012 bin ich Doktorand in der AG Heberle.

Ich untersuche den Protonentranfer des Membranproteins Channelrhodopsin-2 (ChR2) mit zeitaufgelöster UV-Vis und FT-IR Spektroskopie. ChR2 ist ein lichtgetriebener Kationenkanal von der einzelligen Alge Chlamydomonas Reinhardtii und es wird in der Optogenetik verwendet um Aktionspotentiale in neuronalen Zellen zu erzeugen.

Zur Untersuchung dieses Proteins verwende ich eine Flashphotolyse, welche das Detektieren von Proteinkinetiken im sichtbaren Bereich mit einer Zeitauflösung von 10 ns ermöglicht. Mit Hilfe von pH-Indikatoren kann die Protonenabgabe bzw. Protonenaufnahme an die Umgebung detektiert werden. Für die Messungen im Infraroten Bereich verwende ich Rapid Scan und Step Scan Techniken, die eine zeitaufgelöste Messung im infraroten Spektralbereich mittels Fourier-Transformation ermöglichen. Um den internen Protonentransfer genau zu charakterisieren werden unterschiedliche Varianten des Proteins untersucht.