Near-field Vibrational Spectroscopy

Vibrational spectroscopy is an established method for the analysis of biological samples. It provides chemical information and requires no staining. Biological questions in biomembranes require spatial resolution, that can not be reached by conventional microscopes due to the diffraction limit. The structures are smaller than the wavelength of visible light and therefore can not be resolved by classic Raman or Infrared spectroscopy.

Near-field optical microscopy allows this limit to be overcome while retaining the possibilities of classical light microscopy - combining atomic force microscopy with the possibilities of spectrometers. The lateral resolution of apertureless near-field optical microscopy like tip-enhanced Raman spectroscopy (TERS) and scattering scanning near-field optical microscopy, s-SNOM) is only limited by the radius of the metallic tip of the atomic force microscope (diameters typically: 10 - 40 nm).

By systematically scanning of the sample surface topological information from the atomic force microscope and in addition chemical information about the structure of the molecules by vibrational spectroscopy can be obtained point-by-point. In s-SNOM the metallized tip acts as an antenna, focussing the incident light in the optical near-field of the tip. The emitted light is modulated by an interferometer and phase-sensitively detected using lock-in amplification.

Nahfeld-Schwingungsspektroskopie

Schwingungsspektroskopie ist eine etablierte Methode zur Untersuchung von biologischen Proben. Sie liefert chemische Informationen und benötigt keine Anfärbung. Biologische Fragestellungen an Biomembranen erfordern räumliche Auflösung, die konventionelle Mikroskope aufgrund des Beugungslimitierung nicht erreichen können. Die Strukturen sind kleiner als die Wellenlänge des sichtbaren Lichtes und können daher nicht mit der klassischen Raman- oder Infrarotspektroskopie gemessen werden.

Die Rasternahfeldmikroskopie erlaubt dieses Limit zu überwinden unter Beibehaltung der Möglichkeiten der klassischen Lichtmikroskopie - sie kombiniert die Rasterkraftmikroskopie mit den Möglichkeiten von Spektrometern. Die Auflösung von aperturlosen Rasternahfeldmikroskopie wie der spitzenverstärkten Ramanspektroskopie (Tip enhanced Raman scattering, TERS) und der Rasternahfeldmikroskopie (scattering scanning near-field optical microscopy, s-SNOM) wird nur durch den Spitzenradius der metallischen Spitze des Rasterkraftmikroskopes bestimmt (Durchmesser typischerweise: 10 - 40 nm).

Durch systematisches Rastern der Probenoberfläche erhält man für jeden Punkt die topologische Information des Rasterkraftmikroskops und zusätzlich an jedem Punkt über die Schwingungsspektroskopie chemische Informationen zur Struktur der Moleküle. Die Spitze fungiert bei s-SNOM als Antenne, die das einfallende Licht im optischen Nahfeld der Spitze konzentriert. Das emittierte Licht wird über ein Interferometer moduliert und mittels lock-in-Technik phasensensitiv detektiert.