physik_image

Bachelor and Master theses

Our group welcomes students who wish to make their Bachelor or Master thesis with us. This page is intended to provide an overview of possible topics, the different areas of research as well as the respective tutors. Master and Diploma students can choose between theoretical or experimental research. If you are interested in one of the topics listed below or want to discuss further opportunities please feel free to contact Prof. Reich or one of the tutors mentioned below.

Bachelor theses

Bachelor students work very closely together with one member of the work group. The student will work on a small research-related problem. The problems are especially selected out of our ongoing projects. The selection is depending on the students preferences. Up to now Bachelor students worked on Raman spectroscopy on carbon nanotubes, synthesized new materials and measured and tailored thermal expansion coefficients of composite materials. If you are interested in a Bachelor thesis, please write an email to Prof. Reich.

Master theses

  • Plasmon-enhanced Raman spectroscopy: Plasmons are collective oscillations of electrons in metallic nanostructures. These electronic excitations can be used to focus light into nanoscale volumes, which leads to strong electromagnetic hotspots. The Raman spectrum of carbon nanomaterials is enhanced by several orders of magnitude if placed into such a hotspot. We investigate the basic mechanisms underlying this enhancement and use, among other techniques, a Raman spectrometer with tunable laser wavelength for characterization. For sample preparation we work with collaborators in Manchester, Zuerich, Karlsruhe and Jena. For Mater theses in this area you can put an emphasis on the setup of new experiments, experimental measurements or simulations, depending on your interests. Tutor: Prof. Stephanie Reich
  • Carbon nanotubes with switchable molecules: Carbon nanotubes are tiny hollow cylinders of pure carbon. We attach switchable molecules to the nanotubes surface to reversibly alter their optical or electronic properties. This project is done in cooperation with chemists from the FU and HU Berlin and with the help of international partners. Master or Diploma theses in this field of research are either emphasizing on the anchoring process of the switchable molecules or the investigation of the properties of the nanotube-molecule system. This topic offers the possibility to learn and use a wide range of different research and characterization techniques. Tutor: Dr. Antonio Setaro
  • Thermal properties of metal-matrix composites: Carbon fibres and graphite exhibit very high thermal conductivity, low thermal expansion and low density. We want to use these extraordinary properties to produce new materials that can be used for cooling of computers and machines, as well as in mobile and aerospace applications. In the course of a Bachelor or Master thesis new materials are developed, produced by Spark Plasma Sintering, and their thermal and mechanical properties measured. An interesting mix of physics, material science and engineering. Tutor: Valerio Oddone

physik_image

Bachelor-, Master- und Diplomarbeiten

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe freut sich über Studierende, die ihre Diplom-, Master- oder Bachelorarbeit bei uns anfertigen wollen. Sie finden hier erste Informationen über mögliche Themenfelder und Betreuer. Bei Master- und Diplomarbeiten können neben experimentellen Arbeiten auch Computersimulationen durchgeführt werden. Bitte setzten Sie sich bei Interesse mit Prof. Reich oder einem der genannten Ansprechpartner in Verbindung.

Bachelorarbeiten

Bachelorstudierende arbeiten in sehr enger Zusammenarbeit mit einem Mitglied der Arbeitsgruppe an eigenen kleinen Forschungsproblemen. Diese werden je nach Ihren Interessen aus den laufenden Projekten der Arbeitsgruppe ausgewählt. Bisher haben Bachelorstudierende sich mit Ramanstreuung und Photoluminesenzmessungen an Kohlenstoffnanoröhren beschäftigt, neue Materialien synthetisiert, thermische Ausdehnungskoeffizienten von Kompositen gemessen und modelliert, schaltbare Moleküle beobachtet und vieles mehr. Schreiben Sie eine email an Prof. Reich über Ihr Interesse an einer Bachelorarbeit.

Masterarbeiten

  • Kohlenstoffnanoröhren mit schaltbaren Molekülen: Kohlenstoffnanoröhren sind winzige Hohlzylinder aus reinem Kohlenstoff. Wir befestigen schaltbare Moleküle an der Oberfläche der Röhren, um so etwa die Lichtemission oder den elektrischen Widerstand der Röhren „zu schalten“. An diesem Projekt arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit Chemikern der FU und der HU, aber auch in internationalen Kooperationen. Masterarbeiten in diesem Bereich haben ihren Schwerpunkt entweder in der Verankerung der Moleküle auf den Röhren oder in der Untersuchung der Eigenschaften des kombinierten Systems. Hier kann eine Vielzahl von Untersuchungs- und Charakterisierungmethoden genutzt und erlernt werden. Derzeit sind in diesem Bereich mehrere Bachelor und Masterarbeiten zu vergeben. Ansprechpartner: Dr. Antonio Setaro
  • Thermische Eigenschaften von Kohlenstoffnanoröhren: Kohlenstoffnanoröhren haben eine thermische Leitfähigkeit, die drei Mal so groß ist wie die des Diamanten, des besten klassischen Wärmeleiters. Auch andere thermische Eigenschaften sind sehr ungewöhnlich: So ziehen sich Nanoröhren bei Temperaturerhöhung zusammen, während sich praktisch alle anderen Materialien ausdehnen. Wir versuchen diese Eigenschaften in neuartige Materialien umzusetzen (siehe unten), die zum Kühlen von Computern und Maschinen genutzt werden sollen. Im Rahmen einer Masterarbeit sollen thermische Leitfähigkeit, Ausdehnung usw. gemessen und modelliert werden. Ansprechpartner: Dr. Izabela Firkowska (Englisch)
  • Kompositmaterialien auf der Basis von Kohlenstoffnanoröhren: Viele Eigenschaften von Nanoröhren wie ihre hohe Reißfestigkeit oder die überragende thermische Leitfähigkeit lässt sich in Anwendungen nutzen, indem man die Röhren in andere Materialien einbettet. Wir entwickeln solche Kompositmaterialien in einer Reihe von Projekten, die vom thermischen Management bis zur Nanomedizin reichen. In Masterarbeiten kann hier an der Entwicklung und Untersuchung von Nanokompositen aus Kohlenstoffröhren oder Graphen und Polymeren, Metallen und Ölen gearbeitet werden. Neben der Herstellung von Kompositen werden auch vielfältige Charakterisierungsmethoden (Rasterkraftmikroskopie, Ramanstreuung, Elektronenmikroskopie usw.) eingesetzt. Ansprechpartner: Dr. Vitaliy Datsyuk (Englisch)