physik_image

Characterization lab

Thermal Characterization

Our group developes composite materials based on carbon nanotubes. These new materials are to be used in thermal management (e.g. cooling of machines). To determine the thermophysical properties of various composite materials we have several different experimental methods available.  

The Linseis Dilatometer L75 Pt1000

Linseis Dilatometer L75 Pt1000
measures the change of length of a solid sample as a function of the change in temperature. This dilatometer can be used to investigate samples in a temperature range from room temperature to 1000 ° C. The dilatometer measures, the technical expansion coefficient, the linear thermal expansion coefficient and the physical expansion coefficient of the sample.


DSC - Differential Scanning Calorimetry

DSC - Dynamische Differenz-Kalorimetrie
To determine the reaction enthalpy, the melting heat and the specific heat capacity, our work group has a Linseis differential scanning calorimeter. It measures the heat flux between the sample and a reference over a well defined distance. The heat flux is measured while the temperature is changing.






XFA 500 Xenon Flash Thermal Constant Analyzer

Xenon Flash Thermal Constant Analyzer
With the Linseis XFA 500 Xenon Flash Thermal Constant Analyzer the thermal diffusivity of solid samples can be determined in a range between RT and 500° C. A short xenon flash lamp heats a flat, thermally insulated sample on the front. The device measures the temperature at the back of the sample and from its course over time, the temperature conductivity is determined.












Hot Disk TPS 2500

Hot Disc

To determine the thermal conductivity of a sample we use the Hot Disk TPS 2500. The area sensor acts as the heat source and as the temperature sensor. In a standard measurement the sensor is put into a sample. Thus, the sensor is surrounded by two identical materials. The sensor records the characteristics of the temperature change over time. This is readily translated into the samples temperature conductivity.

physik_image

Charakterisierungslabor

Thermische Charakterisierung

  In unserer Arbeitsgruppe werden Kompositmaterialien basierend auf Kohlenstoffnanoröhren entwickelt, die im thermischen Management (Kühlen von Maschinen) zum Einsatz kommen sollen. Zur Bestimmung der thermophysikalischen Stoffdaten  verschiedener Kompositmaterialien stehen uns mehrere  Verfahren zur Verfügung.  

Das Linseis Dilatometer L75 Pt1000

Linseis Dilatometer L75 Pt1000
misst die Längenänderungen einer festen Probe in Abhängigkeit von der Temperaturänderung. Mit diesem Dilatometer kann in einem Temperaturbereich von RT bis 1000°C der technische Ausdehnungskoeffizient,  die lineare thermische Ausdehnung und der physikalische Ausdehnungskoeffizient der Proben bestimmt werden.


DSC - Dynamische Differenz-Kalorimetrie

DSC - Dynamische Differenz-Kalorimetrie
Um die Reaktionsenthalpie, die Schmelzwärme und die spezifische Wärmekapazität zu bestimmen, besitzt unsere Arbeitsgruppe ein Linseis DSC - Dynamisches Differenz-Kalorimeter.  Hier wird der Wärmefluss zwischen der Probe und einer Referenz über eine definierte Wärmeleitstrecke  gemessen.






XFA 500 Xenon Flash Thermal Constant Analyzer

Xenon Flash Thermal Constant Analyzer
Die Temperaturleitfähigkeit fester Proben kann  in einem Messbereich zwischen RT und 500°C mit dem Linseis XFA 500 Xenon Flash Thermal Constant Analyzer bestimmt werden. Ein kurzer Xenonlampenblitz erwärmt eine flache, thermisch isolierte Probe auf der Vorderseite . Das Gerät misst die Temperatur an der Rückseite der Probe und aus ihrem zeitlichen Verlauf  wird die Temperaturleitfähigkeit bestimmt.












Hot Disk TPS 2500

Hot Disc

Um die Wärmeleitfähigkeit  einer Probe  zu ermitteln  steht uns ein Hot Disk TPS 2500 zur Verfügung. Hier dient der flächige Sensor als Wärmequelle und als Temperaturfühler zugleich. Bei Standardmessungen  wird dieser zwischen zwei, vom Material her identische, Probenstücke gelegt. Aus dem Verlauf der Temperaturänderung über die Zeit während eines Heizimpulses wird dann die Temperaturleitfähigkeit  der Probe ermittelt.