physik_image

Atomic force microscopes

For the topological analysis of our samples we have two atomic force microscopes. The Veeco Bioscope II AFM and the Park XE 150 AFM. Both systems are attached to a Labram high-resolution spectrometer.

 

The Bioscope II sits on an inverted microscope connected to the Labram and is therefore well suited for the investigation of transparent samples. For such samples Raman and atomic force measurements can be performed simultaneously.








The Park AFM is equipped with a piezoelectric table to navigate on a sample with a precision of a few nanometer. Additionally, the navigation on a sample is further assisted by encoders. These encoders keep track of the table's absolute position to ensure that a region of interest of a sample can be found again.







With both systems we measure the topography of nano systems with high spatial resolution. In its simplest application this system aims at combining the topological information of a sample (where is the nano particle, is a nanotube straight or curved) with Raman scattering or luminescence link.

More advanced is the method of tip-enhanced Raman scattering. In the near field of a metallic tip the Raman signal is amplified by several orders of magnitude. Using this trick single e.g. molecules can be detected or the spatial resolution can be increased to be even below the light's wavelength. The coupling of atomic force microscopy with Raman microscopy is a new experimental method in the area of nano systems, biomaterials, etc..

physik_image

Rasterkraftmikroskope

Zur topologischen Untersuchung unserer Proben stehen uns zwei Rasterkraftmikroskope zur Verfügung. Das Veeco Bioscope II AFM und das Park XE 150 AFM. Beide Systeme sind an ein Labram High-Resolution Spektrometer angekoppelt.

 

Das Bioscope II ist über ein invertiertes Mikroskop mit dem Labram verbunden und eignet sich daher sehr gut zur Untersuchung von transparenten Proben. Bei solchen Proben kann eine Raman- zeitgleich mit einer Rasterkraft-Messung durchgeführt werden.

 

 

 

 

Das Park AFM hingegen verfügt neben der Fähigkeit der "tip-enhanced"-Raman-Messung über einen piezoelektrischen Probentisch durch den eine nanometergenaue Navigation auf der Probe gewährleisted wird.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mit beiden Systemen messen wir Nanosysteme mit einer hohen räumlichen Auflösung. In seiner einfachsten Anwendung zielt dieses System darauf ab, die topologische Information einer Probe (wo liegt ein Nanoteilchen, ist eine Röhre gerade oder gekrümmt) mit Lichtstreuung oder Lumineszenz zu verknüpfen.

Weiterführend ist die Methode der spitzenverstärkten Raman-Streuung. Im Nahfeld einer metallischen Spitze wird das Ramansignal um mehrere Größenordnungen verstärkt. Durch diesen Trick können einzelne Moleküle detektiert oder eine räumliche Auflösung unterhalb der Lichtwellenlänge erzielt werden. Die Kopplung der Rasterkraft- und Ramanmikroskopie ist eine junge experimentelle Methode, die im Bereich von Nanosystemen, Biomaterialien usw. sehr populär wird.