AG Vieth

Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Vieth

Raum: 1.1.35
Sekretariat: Sabine Simon
Raum: 1.1.29, Tel.: 56 232

Mitarbeiter Homepage

Research Topics:

This research group uses methods of nuclear magnetic resonance to examine molecular structures, movement processes, and reactions in solid and fluid phases, presently with particular emphasis on the following issues:

Electron and hydrogen transfer as a result of light excitation: Charge separation and structural changes in biomolecules, e.g., protein folding, are identified using briefly occurring spin polarizations and tracked over time. The underlying mechanisms are analyzed using model systems.

Ion movement in crystals and glasses: In the substance class defined as superionic conductors, like those used in batteries, fuel cells, and chemical sensors, specific ions can move through solid-state bodies with a high degree of mobility. We characterize the movement processes and examine their connection with the local structure.

physik_image

AG Vieth

Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Vieth

Raum: 1.1.35
Sekretariat: Sabine Simon
Raum: 1.1.29, Tel.: 56 232

Mitarbeiter Homepage

Forschungsthemen

Die Arbeitsgruppe untersucht mit Mitteln der Kernspin-Resonanz molekulare Strukturen, Bewegungsvorgänge und Reaktionen in fester und flüssiger Phase, wobei zur Zeit folgende Probleme im Mittelpunkt stehen:

Elektronen- und Wasserstoff-Transfer infolge von Lichtanregung: Ladungstrennung und strukturelle Änderungen in Biomolekülen, z. B. Faltung von Proteinen, werden mit Hilfe von kurzlebig auftretenden Spinpolarisationen identifiziert und in ihrem Zeitablauf verfolgt. An Modellsystemen werden die zu Grunde liegenden Mechanismen analysiert.

Ionenbewegung in Kristallen und Gläsern: In der Substanzklasse der Superionenleiter, wie sie in Batterien, Brennstoffzellen oder chemischen Sensoren eingesetzt werden, können sich spezifische Ionen mit hoher Mobilität durch den Festkörper bewegen. Wir charakterisieren die Bewegungsvorgänge und untersuchen den Zusammenhang mit der lokalen Struktur.