WS 14/15 Selected Topics

Every year, the Nobel prize in Physics is awarded for breakthroughs in modern physics, which are believed to be of immense importance to mankind. The goals of the students’ talks presented in this seminar are to introduce the theoretical concepts, experimental techniques and possible applications of the discoveries honored by the Nobel prize. In particular, we will focus on Nobel prizes which are based on solid state physics.

The seminar will take place on Mondays 16-18 in seminar room E3 (1.4.31).



Seminar speaker

Nobel laureate and Year


13.10.14 Katharina Franke   Presentation Guidelines and Selection of Topics
03.11.14  Philippe Holzhey  Neel (1970)  Antiferromagnetism and Ferrimagnetism
10.11.14  Sebastian Baum  Binnig, Rohrer (1986)  Scanning tunneling microscope

Markus Schultz

Boyle, Smith (2009)

Invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit – the CCD sensor

01.12.14  Larissa Boie  Ertl (2007)  Chemical processes on solid surfaces
08.12.14  Marek Hild    
15.12.14  Jan Grzegorzewski  Akazaki, Amani, Nakamura (2014)  Blue light emitting diodes
12.01.15  Lucjan Grzegorzewski   Geim, Novoselov (2010)   Graphene
19.01.15  Daniela Zahn  Fert, Grünberg (2007)  Giant Magneto Resistance


Suggested topics include:

Neel (1970) Antiferromagnetism and Ferrimagnetism
Bardeen, Cooper, Schrieffer (1972) BCS theory of superconductivity
Esaki, Giaever, Josephson (1973) Tunneling in semiconductors and Superconductors
von Klitzing (1985) Quantum Hall Effect
Bednorz, Müller (1987) High Tc superconductors
de Gennes (1991) Order phenomena in complex systems, in particular liquid crystals and polymers
Laughlin, Störmer (1998) Fractional quantum Hall effect
Alferov, Kroemer, Kilby (2000) Development of semiconductor heterostructures used in high-speed- and optoelectronics and invention of the integrated circuit
Abrikosov, Ginzburg, Leggett (2003) Theory of superconductors and superfluids
Fert, Grünberg (2007) Giant Magneto Resistance
Ertl (2007, Chemistry) Chemical processes on solid surfaces
Boyle, Smith (2009) Invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit – the CCD sensor
Geim, Novoselov (2010) Graphene
Shechtman (2011, Chemistry) Discovery of quasicrystals
Akazaki, Amani, Nakamura (2014) Blue light emitting diodes