Honorary Doctors of the Department of Physics

at the Freie Universität Berlin


Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. David A. Shirley

Director emeritus of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory; Senior Vice-President emeritus of the Pennsylvania State University



Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Peter Brix

Former scientific member of the Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, Heidelberg



Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Stefan Hüfner 

Scientific member (emeritus) of the Universität des Saarlandes



Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Catherine Bréchignac

Previously at the Laboratoire Aimé Cotton, Orsay,

now President of the Institut d'Optique, Université Paris-Sud

Prof. Dr. Dr. Walter Kohn

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California, Santa Barbara



Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Theodor W. Hänsch

Faculty of Physics at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und

member of the Max-Planck-Institut für Quantenoptik, Garching

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Joshua Jortner

Scientific member (emeritus) of the Tel Aviv University



Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. rer. nat. h.c. Wolfgang Junge

Department of Biology/Chemistry, Universität Osnabrück