M.Sc. Luiz Schubert

Hey, I am Luiz and I joined the AG Heberle in January 2018 as a PhD student. I studied Chemistry at the HHU Düsseldorf, where I became interested in time-resolved spectroscopy during my bachelor thesis in the group of Prof. Dr. Peter Gilch. My master thesis on Phytochromes, under supervision of Aba Losi and Wolfgang Gärtner in Parma (Italy), introduced me to the exciting field of photoreceptors.

The impact of a simple photochemical reaction on a complex biological system, is what fascinates me in the field of photoreceptors. I deeply enjoy to work in the interdisciplinary field of biophysics and I am glad to be taught how to handle a LASER as well as E.coli.

schubert

Department of Physics

Department of Experimental Physics

Experimental Molecular Biophysics

Researcher

Address
Arnimallee 14
14195 Berlin

Luiz Schubert, born 1993 in Solingen.

2012-2015     Bachelor of Science Chemistry, HHU Düsseldorf

2015-2017     Master of Science Chemistry, HHU Düsseldorf

My research is focused on the spectroscopic investigation of light-driven proton pumps. Bacteriorhodopsin (bR) is known to translocate protons out of the cell upon light illumination. Recently a structurally related group of membrane proteins, named Xenorhodopsin (XeR), has been discovered. Interestingly XeR shows inwardly directed proton translocation. I want to understand what determines this vectoriality. Therefore I apply different methods of time-resolved infrared spectroscopy covering the time range from nanoseconds up to seconds.

M.Sc. Luiz Schubert

Hey, ich heiße Luiz und habe mich im Januar 2018 der AG Heberle als Doktorand angeschlossen. Ich habe Chemie an der HHU Düsseldorf studiert. Meine Bachelorarbeit bei Prof. Peter Gilch hat meine Begeisterung für die zeitaufgelöste Spektroskopie geweckt. An der Universität Parma habe ich unter Anleitung von Prof. Aba Losi und Prof. Wolfgang Gärtner meine Masterarbeit über Phytochrome geschrieben.

Seitdem stehen biologische Photorezeptoren im Fokus meines Interesses. Als Chemiker fasziniert mich, wie sich eine simple photochemische Reaktion auf ein komplexes biologisches System auswirkt. Außerdem genieße ich es sehr in einem interdisziplinären Feld wie der Biophysik zu arbeiten und dabei zu versuchen sowohl E.coli als auch einen LASER zu beherrschen.

schubert

Fachbereich Physik

Institut für experimentelle Physik

Experimentelle Molekulare Biophysik

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Adresse
Arnimallee 14
Raum 1.1.38
14195 Berlin

Luiz Schubert, geboren 1993 in Solingen

2012-2015 Bachelor of Science Chemistry, HHU Düsseldorf

2015-2017 Master of Science Chemistry, HHU Düsseldorf

Mein Forschungsinteresse liegt in der spektroskopischen Untersuchung von lichtgetriebenen Protonenpumpen. Bakteriorhodopsin (bR) ist eine im Detail charakterisierte Protonenpumpe, die Protonen durch die Zellmembran aus der Zelle pumpt. Kürzlich wurden strukturell sehr ähnliche Membranproteine, Xenorhodopsine (XeR), entdeckt. Diese pumpen, gegensätzlich zu bR, Protonen in die Zelle. Mittels zeitaufgelöster Infrarotspektroskopie möchte ich untersuchen, welche Strukturen im Protein die Richtung der Protonenbewegung bestimmen.