banner_ab_behrends

Research

Transport in Organic Solar Cells

We intend to develop a fundamental understanding of charge transfer and charge transport in organic solar cells. For this purpose we will employ suitable EPR-based techniques. In particular, we will develop the experimental method of transient electrically detected magnetic resonance (transient EDMR). Combining the sensitivity of EDMR and the time resolution of transient EPR will provide us with the possibility to systematically investigate the interplay between charge transfer states, which are generated upon photoexcitation and subsequent charge transfer between donor and acceptor, and the photocurrent in polymer:fullerene blends.

This project is part of the DFG Schwerpunktprogramm 1601 on “New Frontiers in Sensitivity für EPR Spectroscopy: From Biological Cells to Nano Materials”.

Contact: Jan Behrends
Felix Kraffert

Charge Separation in Hybrid Solar Cells

Hybrid solar cells made from organic and inorganic semiconductors open up the opportunity for future photovoltaic devices with high efficiency and comparably low production costs. The combination of (nanostructured) inorganic and organic semiconductors is particularly promising, because the advantages of both material classes may be combined. However, the efficiencies of today’s hybrid solar cells are usually well below the efficiencies of purely inorganic solar cells and cells comprising solely inorganic absorber materials. A key point is the generally inefficient charge separation, i.e. the conversion of photogenerated excitons into separated electrons and holes at the hybrid interface.

Within the framework of a Helmholtz Energie-Allianz we collaborate with scientists from the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, the Forschungszentrum Jülich, the Humboldt university and the Potsdam university to develop “inorganic/organic hybrid solar cells and techniques for photovoltaics“. Our research activities are focused on understanding the processes resulting in exciton dissociation and charge separation at the hybrid interface between inorganic semiconductors (ZnO, CIGS, Si) and polymers or small organic molecules.

Contact: Jan Behrends
Robert Steyrleuthner (AG Bittl)

More detailed information will be available soon.

banner_ab_behrends

Forschungsthemen

Transport in Organischen Solarzellen

Wir beschäftigen uns damit, ein grundlegendes Verständnis von Ladungstransfer und Ladungstransport in organischen Solarzellen zu erarbeiten. Zu diesem Zweck werden passende EPR-basierte Techniken verwendet. Insbesondere soll die experimentelle Methode der transienten elektrisch detektierten magnetischen Resonanz (transiente EDMR) entwickelt werden. Die Kombination der Empfindlichkeit von EDMR und der Zeitauflösung von transienter EPR wird es uns ermöglichen, den Zusammenhang zwischen Ladungstransferkomplexen, die infolge von Photoanregung und anschließendem Ladungstransfer zwischen Donator und Akzeptor entstehen, und dem Photostrom von Polymer:Fulleren-Solarzellen systematisch zu untersuchen.

Dieses Projekt ist Teil des DFG Schwerpunktprogramms 1601 zum Thema “New Frontiers in Sensitivity für EPR Spectroscopy: From Biological Cells to Nano Materials”.

Kontakt: Jan Behrends
Mitarbeiter: Felix Kraffert

Ladungstrennung in Hybrid-Solarzellen

Hybrid-Solarzellen aus organischen und anorganischen Halbleitern bieten das Potenzial für zukünftige photovoltaische Bauelemente mit hohen Wirkungsgraden bei vergleichsweise niedrigen Produktionskosten. Die Kombination aus (nanostrukturierten) anorganischen Halbleitern und organischen Halbleitern erscheint besonders vielversprechend, da sich die Vorteile von beiden Materialien kombinieren lassen. Dennoch liegen die Wirkungsgrade derzeitiger Hybrid-Solarzellen in der Regel weit unterhalb der Wirkungsgrade von rein anorganischen Solarzellen bzw. Zellen mit ausschließlich organischen Absorbermaterialien. Ein entscheidender Grund hierfür ist oftmals die ineffiziente Ladungstrennung, d.h. die Umwandlung von photogenerierten Exzitonen in freie Elektronen und Löcher an der Hybrid-Grenzfläche. An dieser Stelle setzen unsere Arbeiten an.

Im Rahmen einer Helmholtz Energie-Allianz arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit dem Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, dem Forschungszentrum Jülich, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Universität Potsdam daran, „Anorganisch/organische Hybrid-Solarzellen und -Techniken für die Photovoltaik“ zu entwickeln. Unser Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf dem Erstellen eines umfassenden Verständnisses der Prozesse, die zur Exzitonendissoziation und Ladungsträgertrennung an Grenzflächen zwischen anorganischen Halbleitern (ZnO, CIGS, Si) und konjugierten organischen Polymeren bzw. kleinen organischen Molekülen führen.

Kontakt: Jan Behrends
Mitarbeiter: Robert Steyrleuthner (AG Bittl)

Weitere Informationen zu unseren Forschungsthemen folgen in Kürze.