AG Behrends

EPR Spectroscopy in Photovoltaics

Prof. Dr. Jan Behrends (Juniorprofessor)

Jan Behrends
Jan Behrends
AddressArnimallee 14
Room 0.4.43
14195 Berlin-Dahlem
OfficeBirgit Dabisch
Telephone+49-30-838-56149 (Birgit Dabisch)
Telephone (Information)
+49-30-838-54266 (Jan Behrends)


The junior research group EPR spectroscopy in photovoltaics focuses on improving our understanding of fundamental processes in solar cells on a microscopic level. We are using techniques based on Electron Paramagnetic Resonance (EPR) spectroscopy.

Our group is based in the physics department at FU Berlin as well as in the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie.

Our main activities include studying charge transport in organic solar cells as well as hybrid solar cells made from organic and inorganic semiconductors. We are aiming at identifying efficiency-limiting loss mechanisms and developing strategies for the fabrication of future solar cells with improved efficiencies.

Our laboratory is part of the Berlin Joint EPR Lab (BeJEL), which was founded in 2013 and links the EPR research activities of the AG Bittl (physics department), the AG Bordignon (physics department), the AG Risse (chemistry department), the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (Institute for Silicon Photovoltaics) and our group.

An overview about the current research activities can be found in the section Research.

Have a look at our scientific equipment in the Instrumentation section.

Our group is supported by the Excellence Initiative of the German Research Foundation.

banner_ab_behrends

AG Behrends

EPR-Spektroskopie in der Photovoltaik

Prof. Dr. Jan Behrends (Juniorprofessor)

Jan Behrends
Jan Behrends
AdresseArnimallee 14
Raum 0.4.43
14195 Berlin-Dahlem
SekretariatBirgit Dabisch
Telefon+49-30-838-56149 (Birgit Dabisch)
E-Mailj.behrends@fu-berlin.de
birgit.dabisch@fu-berlin.de
Telefon (Auskunft)
+49-30-838-54266 (Jan Behrends)

Forschungsschwerpunkt

Im Zentrum der Aktivitäten in der Nachwuchsgruppe EPR-Spektroskopie in der Photovoltaik steht die Erarbeitung eines grundlegenden Verständnisses der Funktionsweise von Solarzellen auf mikroskopischer Ebene. Zu diesem Zweck verwenden wir Methoden der Elektronen Paramagnetischen Resonanz (EPR-) Spektroskopie.

Unsere Gruppe ist sowohl am Fachbereich Physik der FU Berlin als auch am Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie angesiedelt.

Insbesondere beschäftigen wir uns mit dem Ladungstransport in organischen Solarzellen sowie aus organischen und anorganischen Halbleitern bestehenden Hybrid-Solarzellen. Unser Ziel ist es, wirkungsgradlimitierende Verlustmechanismen zu identifizieren und Strategien zur Herstellung von zukünftigen, effizienteren Solarzellen zu entwickeln.

Unser Labor ist Bestandteil des Anfang 2013 gegründeten Berlin Joint EPR Lab (BeJEL), an dem neben unserer Arbeitsgruppe auch die AG Bittl (Fachbereich Physik), die AG Bordignon (Fachbereich Physik), die AG Risse (Fachbereich Chemie) und das Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie (Institut für Silizium-Photovoltaik) beteiligt sind.

Ein Überblick über die aktuellen Forschungsaktivitäten findet sich im Bereich Forschungsthemen.

Einen Einblick in unsere Labore vermittelt der Bereich wissenschaftliche Ausstattung.

Unsere Gruppe wird aus Mitteln der Exzellenzinitiative der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft gefördert.