banner_ag_bittl

Research

Electron Paramagnetic Resonance

Electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) belongs, together with the much wider known nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR), to the magnetic resonance methods. Both methods are based on the alignment of spins (electron or nuclear spin) in an external magnetic field and the possibility to induce transitions between these states using electromagnetic radiation (microwaves in the EPR, radiofrequency waves in the NMR). We apply EPR techniques to address the following research topics:

Hydrogenases

Fritsch et al., Nature 479:249-252, 2011

The biocatalytic splitting of molecular hydrogen into protons and electrons as well as the reverse reaction are widespread traits in the microbial world and catalyzed by the metalloenzyme hydrogenase. Here the focus is laid onto a subgroup of H2-converting biocatalysts, the so-called O2-tolerant [NiFe]-hydrogenases showing sustained H2-cycling even at ambient O2 concentration.

We aim at a basic understanding of the O2-tolerance of hydrogenases from Ralstonia eutropha, the membrane-bound hydrogenase (MBH), soluble hydrogenase (SH) and regulatory hydrogenase (RH) are addressed individually, regarding their similarities and differences, and also in comparison to standard hydrogenases. By using advanced EPR-spectroscopic techniques like FT-EPR, ENDOR, ESEEM and HYSCORE we want to elucidate the electronic structures of the metal cofactors and relate them to structural motifs, e.g. from the recently resolved crystal structure of the MBH. In focus are the wild-type protein and variants with relevant modifications at the catalytic site and the electron transfer chain. Studies on single crystals will help to assign specific metal-cluster protein interactions. The experiments are conducted under varying redox conditions to monitor the particular steps in the catalytic cycle, which are observable by EPR. Additionally we will contribute to the understanding of the assembly of the protein with emphasis on the FeS clusters by experiments on maturation product variants. In parallel we will push the development of in situ EPR spectroscopy on whole cells to relate specific cytoplasmic conditions to individual redox states of the cofactors in the hydrogenases.

This project is part of the research field E3 within UniCat and includes collaborations with the groups of P. Hildebrandt (IR/Raman), O. Lenz (biochemistry of metalloproteins), M. Kaupp (theory), M. A. Mroginski (theory), as well as P. Scheerer (crystallography).

Contact: Christian Teutloff
Julia Löwenstein

In-Cell EPR using Microresonators

Contact: Christian Teutloff
Andrey Pivtsov

Activation of Carbon Oxides

The global carbon cycle depends on the biological transformations of carbon oxides, which include the reductive incorporation of CO2 into organic molecules (e.g. in photosynthesis and other autotrophic pathways), the direct reduction of CO2 to CO or formate, the oxidation of CO to CO2 and C-C bond formation by reaction of CO with a methyl cation to form an acetyl group. Three selected Mo-enzymes will be investigated, namely the Mo-containing CO dehydrogenase (Mo-CODH), the formate dehydrogenases (FDHs) and three enzymes from the reductive acetyl-CoA pathway, namely the Ni,Fe-containing carbon monoxide dehydrogenases (Ni,Fe-CODH), acetyl-CoA synthase (ACS) and corrinoid iron/sulfur protein (CoFeSP). The active sites of the two CODHs and ACS are heterobimetallic and two different metals, Co and Ni, are involved in the key step of the formation of activated acetic acid from a Co-bound methyl-group from CoFeSP and the Ni-bound CO at ACS. The two main goals are to (A) understand how the metal centers and the surrounding protein matrix contribute to an activation and turnover of carbon oxides and (B) to develop ways to exploit this reactivity in engineered enzyme variants and complexes. All selected enzymes harbour metal sites, which are unique in nature. The role of the individual metals and their interplay will be elucidated.

Within this research project we will apply EPR techniques to paramagnetic states in Ni,Fe-containing carbon monoxide dehydrogenases, acetyl-CoA synthases and the corrinoid/iron-sulfur protein as well as Mo-containing Co-dehydrogenases and formate dehydrogenases. Thereby, we aim at an elucidation of the catalytic mechanism by obtaining information on the electronic and geometric structure of the catalytic site with particular emphasis on the substrate binding. A focus will lie on states where the molecular structure is not known yet. The EPR/ENDOR experiments will be carried out in close collaboration with the groups of S. Leimkühler and H. Dobbek. This project is part of the Cluster of Excellence "Unifying Concepts in Catalysis", project area E2.

Contact: Christian Teutloff

Proton Transfer in Channelrhodopsin

We investigate conformational changes and alterations in the hydrogen bonding network in the light-activated ion channel channelrhodopsin (ChR), using site-directed spin labeling and EPR spectroscopy. Electron spin probes attached to the protein are very sensitive to their surroundings and can therefore be used to detect changes in polarity and hydrogen bonding. Additionally, we monitor structural changes in ChR during the photocycle using pulsed electron-electron double resonance (ELDOR) on doubly labelled ChR constructs.

This project is funded through the SFB 1078 (subproject B4) by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft.

Contact: Robert Bittl
Christopher Engelhard

Photoreceptors

An important part of our research interest are biological photoreceptors. In addition to the DFG-funded research on channelrhodopsin, there are two further main research projects in this area of interest:

Electron transfer in cryptochromes
Cryptochromes are a class of blue-light sensing proteins that have been implicated to play a role in the magnetoreception of birds. Their functional mechanism is thought to rely on the formation of radical pairs that can be favourably studied by EPR. In our research, we focus on elucidating the nature and functional relevance of the electron transfer pathways that lead to the formation of radical pairs, both in vivo using high sensitivity cw EPR and in vitro using time resolved transient EPR spectroscopy.

This project is in collaboration with Dr. Margaret Ahmad at the University of Paris, France.

The signalling mechanism of LOV domains
LOV domains are a class of blue-light sensing domains that are nearly ubiquitous in nature. They are of particular interest because they can bind to a wide variety of effector domains. Our focus is the elucidating of the signalling mechanism responsible for this modular approach, using both site-directed spin labelling and the flavin cofactor as an intrinsic spin probe for ELDOR and ENDOR spectroscopy.

This project is in collaboration with Prof. Andreas Möglich of the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin and Prof. Wolfgang Gärtner at the Max Planck Institut for Chemical Energy Conversion in Mülheim, Germany.

Contact: Robert Bittl
Christopher Engelhard

Spin-Dependent Transport in Thin-Film Silicon Solar Cells

The efficiency of thin-film solar cells based on hydrogenated amorphous and microcrystalline silicon is strongly influenced by defects, impurities and light-induced structural changes in the absorber material. The aim of the interdisciplinary research network “EPR-Solar” was and is the development of a detailed picture of defects with particular emphasis on their structure and their impact on electronic processes such as transport and recombination in solar cells in order to support the development of strategies to prevent defect creation.

The research activities at the FU Berlin are focused on the defect characterisation and method development in the field of electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy as well as electrically detected magnetic resonance spectroscopy. We are closely collaborating with researcher from the Forschungszentrum Jülich, the TU Munich, the Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung in Düsseldorf and the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin.

Contact: Jan Behrends
Christoph Meier

Transport in Organic Solar Cells

We intend to develop a fundamental understanding of charge transfer and charge transport in organic solar cells. For this purpose we will employ suitable EPR-based techniques. In particular, we will develop the experimental method of transient electrically detected magnetic resonance (transient EDMR). Combining the sensitivity of EDMR and the time resolution of transient EPR will provide us with the possibility to systematically investigate the interplay between charge transfer states, which are generated upon photoexcitation and subsequent charge transfer between donor and acceptor, and the photocurrent in polymer:fullerene blends.

This project is part of the DFG Schwerpunktprogramm 1601 on “New Frontiers in Sensitivity für EPR Spectroscopy: From Biological Cells to Nano Materials”.

Contact: Jan Behrends
Felix Kraffert

Charge Separation in Hybrid Solar Cells

Hybrid solar cells made from organic and inorganic semiconductors open up the opportunity for future photovoltaic devices with high efficiency and comparably low production costs. The combination of (nanostructured) inorganic and organic semiconductors is particularly promising, because the advantages of both material classes may be combined. However, the efficiencies of today’s hybrid solar cells are usually well below the efficiencies of purely inorganic solar cells and cells comprising solely inorganic absorber materials. A key point is the generally inefficient charge separation, i.e. the conversion of photogenerated excitons into separated electrons and holes at the hybrid interface.

In an interdisciplinary project (AG Weinelt / AG Bittl) being part of the FU Focus Area “NanoScale” we analyse the processes at the hybrid interface between crystalline silicon and small organic molecules on the microscopic level. We aim at developing strategies to enhance the charge transfer and charge separation yields.

Within the framework of a Helmholtz Energie-Allianz we collaborate with scientists from the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, the Forschungszentrum Jülich, the Humboldt university and the Potsdam university to develop “inorganic/organic hybrid solar cells and techniques for photovoltaics“. Our research activities are focused on understanding the processes resulting in exciton dissociation and charge separation at the hybrid interface between inorganic semiconductors (ZnO, CIGS, Si) and polymers or small organic molecules.

Contact: Jan Behrends
Robert Steyrleuthner

banner_ag_bittl

Forschungsthemen

Elektronenspinresonanz

Die Elektronenspin-Resonanz (engl. electron paramagnetic resonance, EPR) gehört zusammen mit der bekannteren Kernspin-Resonanz (engl. nuclear magnetic resonance, NMR) zu den Methoden der magnetischen Resonanz.

Beide Methoden beruhen auf der Ausrichtung des Spins (Elektronen- oder Kernspin) in einem äußeren Magnetfeld und der Möglichkeit, durch elektromagnetische Strahlung entsprechender Wellenlänge (Mikrowelle in der EPR, Radiofrequenz in der NMR) zwischen diesen Einstell-Möglichkeiten Übergänge zu induzieren. Wir verwenden Methoden der EPR-Spektroskopie, um folgende Fragestellungen zu bearbeiten:

Hydrogenasen

Fritsch et al., Nature 479:249-252, 2011

Die reversibel biokatalytische Spaltung von molekularem Wasserstoff in Protonen und Elektronen ist in der mikrobiellen Welt weitverbreitet und wird durch das Metalloenzym Hydrogenase katalysiert. Die hier untersuchten Enzyme ist eine Untergruppe der H2-spaltenden Biokatalysatoren, der sogenannten O2-toleranten [NiFe]-Hydrogenasen, welche auch unter atmosphärischer O2-Konzentration einen normalen H2-Umsatz aufrecht erhalten können.

Unser Ziel ist ein grundlegendes Verständnis der O2-Toleranz der Hydrogenasen in Ralstonia eutropha, die membrangebundene Hydrogenase (MBH), die lösliche Hydrogenase (SH) und die regulatorische Hydrogenase (RH) werden hierfür individuell untersucht, aber auch hinsichtlich der Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede untereinander und im Vergleich zu Standardhydrogenasen. Durch die Anwendung fortschrittlicher EPR-spektroskopischer Methoden wie FT-EPR, ENDOR, ESEEM und HYSCORE wollen wir die elektronischen Strukturen der Metallkofaktoren aufklären und sie mit strukturellen Motiven in Verbindung bringen, wie sie z.B. in der kürzlich gelösten Kristallstruktur der MBH auftreten. Im Fokus stehen das Wildtypprotein und Varianten mit relevanten Änderungen im katalytischen Zentrum und in der Elektronentransferkette. Studien an Einkristallen werden dazu beitragen, spezielle Wechselwirkungen zwischen Metall-Clustern und Protein zuzuordnen. Die Experimente werden unter verschiedenen Redoxbedingungen durchgeführt, um die einzelnen, mittels EPR sichtbaren, Schritte im katalytischen Zyklus zu beobachten. Zusätzlich werden wir durch Experimente an Varianten von Maturationsprodukten zum Verständnis des Aufbaus des Proteins beitragen, der Schwerpunkt liegt hier auf den FeS-Clustern. Parallel dazu wird von uns die Entwicklung von in-situ-EPR-Spektroskopie an ganzen Zellen voran getrieben, um spezifische zytoplasmatische Bedingungen mit einzelnen Redoxzuständen der Kofaktoren in den Hydrogenasen in Zusammenhang zu bringen.

Dieses Projekt ist Teil des Forschungsbereichs E3 innerhalb von UniCat und beinhaltet die Zusammenarbeit mit den Gruppen von P. Hildebrandt (IR/Raman), O. Lenz (Biochemie von Metalloenzymen), M. Kaupp (Theorie), M. A. Mroginski (Theorie), sowie P. Scheerer (Kristallographie).

Kontakt: Christian Teutloff
Mitarbeiter: Julia Löwenstein

In-Cell EPR unter Verwendung von Mikroresonatoren

Kontakt: Christian Teutloff
Mitarbeiter: Andrey Pivtsov

Aktivierung von Kohlendioxid

Der globale Kohlenstoffkreislauf hängt von der biologischen Umsetzung von Kohlenstoffoxiden ab, welche den reduktiven Einbau von CO2 in organische Moleküle (z.B. in der Photosynthese und anderen autotrophen Pfaden), die direkte Reduktion von CO2 zu CO oder Format, die Oxidation von CO zu CO2 und den C-C Bindungsaufbau durch Reaktion von CO mit einem Methylkation zur Bildung einer Azetylgruppe umfässt. Drei ausgewählte Molybdän-Enzymklassen werden untersucht: die Mo-enthaltende CO-Dehydrogenase (Mo-CODH), Formatdehydrogenasen (FDH) und drei Enzyme aus dem reduktiven Azetyl-Koenzym-A Pfad: die Ni,Fe-enthaltende CO-Dehydrogenase (Ni,Fe-CODH), die Azetyl-CoA-Synthase (ACS) und das Corrinoid-Eisen/Schwefel Protein (CoFeSP).

Die katalytischen Zentren der zwei CODHs und ACS sind heterobimetallisch und die zwei Metalle Co und Ni sind am entscheidenden Schritt zur Bildung aktivierter Essigsäure von einer Cobalt-gebundenen Methylgruppe im CoFeSP und dem Nickel-gebundenen CO am ACS beteiligt.

Die zwei Hauptziele unserer Untersuchungen sind (A) zu verstehen wie die Metallzentren und die Proteinumgebung zur Aktivierung und Umsatz von Kohlestoffoxiden beitragen und (B) Wege zur Ausnutzung dieser Reaktivität in optimierten Enzymvarianten und Komplexen zu entwickeln. Alle ausgewählten enthalten Metallbindungsstellen, welche einzigartig in der Natur sind. Die Rolle der einzelnen Metalle und ihr Wechselspiel miteinander soll aufgeklärt werden.

Innerhalb dieses Forschungsprojekts werden wir verschiedenen EPR-Techniken auf die paramagnetischen Zustände in Ni, Fe-enthaltenden CODHs, ACS und CoFeSP, als auch den Mo-enthaltenden CODHs und den FDH anwenden. Dabei zielen wir auf die Aufklärung des katalytischen Mechanismus, indem die erhaltenen Informationen über die elektronische und geometrische Struktur der katalytischen Zentren verknüpft werden sollen, spezieller in substratgebundenen Zuständen. Besonderer Fokus wird auf Zustände gerichtet sein, für welche noch keine Kristallstruktur existiert. Die dafür erforderlichen EPR- und ENDOR-Experimente werden in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Gruppen von S. Leimkühler und H. Dobbek durchgeführt.

Dieses Projekt ist Teil des Exzellenzclusters "Unifying Concepts in Catalysis", Projektbereich E2

Kontakt: Christian Teutloff

Protonentransfer in Channelrhodopsin

Wir untersuchen Strukturveränderungen und Änderungen des Wasserstoffbrücken-Netzwerkes des licht-aktivierten Ionenkanals Channelrhodopsin (ChR) mit Hilfe ortsspezifischer Spinmarkierungen und verschiedener EPR-Methoden. Die mit EPR detektierbaren Parameter an ein Protein gebundener Spinmarkierungen reagieren sehr empfindlich auf die Umgebung des Labels und können somit dazu genutzt werden, Veränderungen in der Polarität und Wasserstoff-Verbrückung des Proteins zu erkennen. Desweiteren verwenden wir gepulste Elektron-Elektron Doppelresonanz (ELDOR) um strukturelle Veränderungen des ChR während des Photozyklus zu erkennen.

Diese Projekt wird im Rahmen des SFB 1078 (Projekt B4) von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft gefördert.

Kontakt: Robert Bittl
Mitarbeiter: Christopher Engelhard

Photorezeptoren

Einen weiteren bedeutenden Teil unserer Forschungsinteressen stellen biologische Photorezeptoren dar. Zusätzlich zu unserer SFB-geförderten Forschung an Channelrhodopsin gibt es in diesem Bereich noch zwei weitere Forschungsschwerpunkte:

Elektronentransfer in Cryptochromen
Cryptochrome sind eine Klasse von Blaulicht-empfindlichen Proteinen bei denen vermutet wird, dass sie einen Anteil an der Magnetfeld-Sensorik von Vögeln haben. Ihr Funktionsmechanism beruht vermutlich auf der Bildung eines Radikalpaares, welches sehr gut in der EPR charakterisiert werden kann. In unserer Forschung konzentrieren wir uns auf die Art und funktionale Bedeutung der Elektronentransferpfade, die zur Bildung des Radikalpaares führen, sowohl in vivo mit Hilfe von hochempfindlicher cw EPR, als auch in vitro mit Hilfe von transienter, zeitaufgelöster EPR.

Dieses Projekt ist Teil einer Kooperation mit Dr. Margaret Ahmad an der Universität von Paris, Frankreich.

Der Signalmechanismus von LOV-Domänen
LOV-Domänen sind eine Klasse von Blaulichtrezeptoren, die in der Natur nahezu ubiquitär sind. Sie sind für die Forschung von besonderem Interesse, da sie an sehr viele verschiedene Effektordomänen binden können. Unser Fokus ist die Untersuchung des Signalmechanismus, der dieses modulare Verhalten ermöglicht. Dazu verwenden wir sowohl ortsspezifische Spinmarkierungen als auch den Flavin-Kofaktor als intrinsische Spinsonde für ELDOR und ENDOR Doppelresonanz-Spektroskopie.

Dieses Projekt ist Teil einer Kooperation mit Prof. Andreas Möglich von der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin und Prof. Wolfgang Gärtner am Max-Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion in Mülheim, Deutschland.

Kontakt: Robert Bittl
Mitarbeiter: Christopher Engelhard

Spinabhängiger Transport in Dünnschichtsilizium-Solarzellen

Der Wirkungsgrad von Dünnschichtsolarzellen auf der Basis von hydrogenisiertem amorphem und mikrokristallinem Silizium wird auf vielfältige Weise durch Defektzustände, Verunreinigungen und lichtinduzierte strukturelle Veränderungen im Absorbermaterial beschränkt. Ziel des interdisziplinären Forschungsnetzwerks „EPR-Solar“ war und ist es, ein detailliertes Verständnis dieser Defekte bezüglich ihrer nanoskopischen Struktur, ihrer Entstehung sowie ihrer Beteiligung an elektronischen Prozessen wie Transport und Rekombination in Solarzellen zu erarbeiten, um die Entwicklung geeigneter Maßnahmen zur Beseitigung dieser Defekte zu unterstützen.

Der Schwerpunkt der Tätigkeiten an der Freien Universität Berlin liegt im Bereich der Defektcharakterisierung sowie der Methodenentwicklung auf dem Gebiet der elektrisch detektierten magnetischen Resonanz Spektroskopie sowie der Elektronen paramagnetischen Resonanz Spektroskopie. Auf diesem Gebiet arbeiten wir eng mit dem Forschungszentrum Jülich, der TU München, dem Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung in Düsseldorf sowie dem Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin zusammen.

Kontakt: Jan Behrends
Mitarbeiter: Christoph Meier

Transport in Organischen Solarzellen

Wir beschäftigen uns damit, ein grundlegendes Verständnis von Ladungstransfer und Ladungstransport in organischen Solarzellen zu erarbeiten. Zu diesem Zweck werden passende EPR-basierte Techniken verwendet. Insbesondere soll die experimentelle Methode der transienten elektrisch detektierten magnetischen Resonanz (transiente EDMR) entwickelt werden. Die Kombination der Empfindlichkeit von EDMR und der Zeitauflösung von transienter EPR wird es uns ermöglichen, den Zusammenhang zwischen Ladungstransferkomplexen, die infolge von Photoanregung und anschließendem Ladungstransfer zwischen Donator und Akzeptor entstehen, und dem Photostrom von Polymer:Fulleren-Solarzellen systematisch zu untersuchen.

Dieses Projekt ist Teil des DFG Schwerpunktprogramms 1601 zum Thema “New Frontiers in Sensitivity für EPR Spectroscopy: From Biological Cells to Nano Materials”.

Kontakt: Jan Behrends
Mitarbeiter: Felix Kraffert

Ladungstrennung in Hybrid-Solarzellen

Hybrid-Solarzellen aus organischen und anorganischen Halbleitern bieten das Potenzial für zukünftige photovoltaische Bauelemente mit hohen Wirkungsgraden bei vergleichsweise niedrigen Produktionskosten. Die Kombination aus (nanostrukturierten) anorganischen Halbleitern und organischen Halbleitern erscheint besonders vielversprechend, da sich die Vorteile von beiden Materialien kombinieren lassen. Dennoch liegen die Wirkungsgrade derzeitiger Hybrid-Solarzellen in der Regel weit unterhalb der Wirkungsgrade von rein anorganischen Solarzellen bzw. Zellen mit ausschließlich organischen Absorbermaterialien. Ein entscheidender Grund hierfür ist oftmals die ineffiziente Ladungstrennung, d.h. die Umwandlung von photogenerierten Exzitonen in freie Elektronen und Löcher an der Hybrid-Grenzfläche. An dieser Stelle setzen unsere Arbeiten an.

In einem arbeitsgruppenübergreifenden Projekt (AG Weinelt / AG Bittl) im Rahmen der FU Focus Area “NanoScale” untersuchen wir die Prozesse an der Hybrid-Grenzfläche zwischen kristallinem Silizium und kleinen organischen Molekülen auf mikroskopische Ebene. Unser Ziel ist es, Strategien zur Verbesserung von Ladungstransfer und -trennung zu entwickeln.

Im Rahmen einer Helmholtz Energie-Allianz arbeiten wir gemeinsam mit dem Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, dem Forschungszentrum Jülich, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und der Universität Potsdam daran, „Anorganisch/organische Hybrid-Solarzellen und -Techniken für die Photovoltaik“ zu entwickeln. Unser Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf dem Erstellen eines umfassenden Verständnisses der Prozesse, die zur Exzitonendissoziation und Ladungsträgertrennung an Grenzflächen zwischen anorganischen Halbleitern (ZnO, CIGS, Si) und konjugierten organischen Polymeren bzw. kleinen organischen Molekülen führen.

Kontakt: Jan Behrends
Mitarbeiter: Robert Steyrleuthner