AG Brouwer

Theoretical mesoscopic physics

Prof. Dr. Piet Brouwer

Prof. Dr. Piet Brouwer
Prof. Dr. Piet Brouwer
AddressArnimallee 14
Building Fachbereich Physik — Room 1.4.19
D-14195 Berlin - Dahlem; Germany
OfficeGabriele Herrmann, room 1.4.18 (secretariat)
Telephone+49-30-838 55248 (secretariat)
EmailProf. Dr. P. Brouwer
Gabriele Herrmann

M.Sc., Physics, 1993, Leiden University. M.Sc., Mathematics, 1994, Leiden University. Ph.D., 1997, Leiden University. Postdoctoral fellowship, Harvard University, 1997-1999. Assistant Professor, Physics, Cornell University, 1999-2003. Associate Professor, Physics, Cornell University 2003- 2008. Professor, Physics, Cornell University, 2009-present. Professor, Freie Universitaet Berlin, 2009-present.Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, 2000-2001. Packard Fellow 2001-2006. Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Bessel Award, 2006. Provost's Award for Distinguished Scholarship, 2007. Alexander von Humboldt Professorship 2008.

Research Areas

Theoretical mesoscopic physics; physics of disordered electron systems; quantum chaos; random-matrix theory; nanomagnetism

Current Research

My research interests are in the field of theoretical mesocopic physics. Mesoscopic physics is a subfield of condensed matter physics that deals with the properties of small, mostly electronic systems, which are governed by the interplay of quantum mechanics and scattering by impurities or boundaries. Examples of such systems are semiconductor or metal wires, metal nanoparticles, carbon nanotubes, or semiconductor quantum dots. Similar physics also occurs for systems with multiple scattering of microwaves or light.

Questions of recent interest have been: What is the effect of Coulomb interactions in a quantum dot (a small metallic particle coupled to the outside world via point contacts) if the coupling between the quantum dot and source and drain electrodes is strong? What is the size-dependence of quantum-interference corrections to transport through quantum dots if the electron motion inside the quantum dot is ballistic? How does scattering off charged impurities affect the conductivity of graphene (a single sheet of carbon atoms as they occur in graphite)? How does the proximity to a superconductor affect the electronic properties of a ferromagnet?

Another topic of interest is magnetism on the nanoscale. My research addresses the effects of the spin-transfer torque, as well as consequences of quantum phase coherence and impurity scattering in nm-sized magnets.

AG Brouwer

Theoretische mesoskopische Physik

Prof. Dr. Piet Brouwer

Prof. Dr. Piet Brouwer
Prof. Dr. Piet Brouwer
AdresseArnimallee 14
Gebäude Fachbereich Physik — Raum 1.4.19
D-14195 Berlin - Dahlem; Germany
SekretariatGabriele Herrmann, Rm. 1.4.18
Telefon+49-30-838 55248 (Sekretariat)
Fax+49-30-838 55258
E-MailProf. Dr. P. Brouwer
Gabriele Herrmann

 

 

Drs., Physik, 1993, Leiden University. Drs., Mathematik, 1994, Leiden University. Dr., 1997, Leiden University. Postdoctoral fellowship, Harvard University, 1997-1999. Assistant Professor, Physics, Cornell University, 1999-2003. Associate Professor, Physics, Cornell University 2003-2008. Professor, Physics, Cornell University, ab 2009. Professor, Freie Universitaet Berlin, 2009-present. Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, 2000-2001. Packard Fellow 2001-2006. Bessel Preis der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, 2006. Provost's Award for Distinguished Scholarship, 2007. Alexander von Humboldt-Professur 2008, Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung (AvH).


Forschungsgebiete

Theoretische mesoskopische Physik; Physik ungeordneter elektronischer Systeme; Quantenchaos, Theorie der Zufallsmatrizen; Magnetismus auf der Nanoskala.

 

Aktuelle Forschung

Meine Forschungsinteressen liegen im Bereich der theoretischen mesoskopischen Physik, einem Teilgebiet der Physik der kondensierten Materie. In der mesoskopischen Physik beschäftigen wir uns mit kleinen, hauptsächlich elektronischen Systemen, deren Eigenschaften durch das Zusammenspiel der Quantenmechanik mit Streuung an Unreinheiten oder Rändern bestimmt werden. Beispiele für solche Systeme sind Drähte aus Halbleitern oder Metallen, metallische Nanopartikel, Kohlenstoffnanoröhrchen, sowie Halbleiter-Quantenpunkte. Ähnliche physikalische Effekte findet man in Systemen, in denen Mikrowellen oder Licht vielfach gestreut werden.

In letzter Zeit haben wir uns für folgende Fragestellungen interessiert: Was ist der Einfluss der Coulombwechselwirkung in einem Quantenpunkt (einem kleinen metallischen Partikel), wenn der Quantenpunkt  stark an die Elektroden gekoppelt ist? Was ist die Größenabhaengigkeit der Quanteninterferenzkorrekturen zum Widerstand von Quantenpunkten, wenn die Elektronenbewegung innerhalb der Quantenpunkte ballistisch ist? Wie beeinflusst die Streuung an geladenen Unreinheiten den Widerstand von Graphen (einer einzelnen Schicht von Kohlenstoffatomen, wie sie in Graphit vorkommen)? Wie beeinflusst die Nähe eines Supraleiters die elektronischen Eigenschaften eines Ferromagneten?

Ein weiteres Gebiet von Interesse ist der Magnetismus auf der Nanoskala. Unsere Forschung beschäftigt sich mit Effekten des Spin-Transfer Drehmoments, sowie den Konsequenzen von Quantenkohärenz und Streuung an Unreinheiten in nanometergroßen Magneten.