Retinal Proteins

Microbial rhodopins share a 7 transmembrane helix architecture, a fold common also to visual rhodopsins and G-protein coupled receptors. Rhodopsins are also characterized by the presence of a retinal chromophore (chemically related to vitamin A) linked to a lysine through a protonated Shiff base (SB). Retinal light-induced isomerization, generally from all-trans to 13-cis in microbial rhodopsins, starts a cyclic reaction: the photocycle.

br-cycle

Bacteriorhodopsin. The light-driven proton pump bacteriorhodopsin (bR) was the first identified microbial rhodopsin, and by far the better understood. The SB deprotonates in less than hundred microseconds after green light photo-excitation. This is the first of a series of well characterized internal proton transfer reactions that end into the net vectorial transport of a proton from the cytoplasmic to the extracellular side and the recovery of the ground state. The most controversial aspect of the bR photocycle remains the group the releases the proton to the extracellular side, apparently consisting of a protonated network of water molecules.

Sensory rhodopsin I. Unlike bR, sensory rhodopsin I (sRI) is not involved in energy production but in phototaxis, i.e., in light sensing. Orange light absorption by sRI cause retinal isomerization and formation of the spectrally distinct species S373 with deprotonated SB. This process acts as an attractant signal for the cell, whereas absorption of a second photon (near UV) by S373 leads to a repellent signal. Light-induced conformational changes are transmitted to Htr I, an integral transmembrane protein that is intimately associated to sRI. The communication between membrane proteins is generally little understood, and sRI / HtrI represent model systems for the elucidation of general principles of signal transduction between proteins.

br-cycle

Channelrhodopsins. Channelrhodopsins (ChRs) are the first and so far unique light-gated ion channels found in nature. ChR1 and ChR2 serve as phototaxis receptors in the unicellular green alga Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. Upon light excitation they transiently become permeable to protons and cations (Na+, K+ and Ca+2), allowing for light-controlled depolarization of the membrane potential. When ChR2 is expressed in neurons this property has been used to induce action potentials by light, i.e., optogenetic control of neural activity. ChRs are also unique among all ion channels as their functional mechanism can be studied over the time-scale from femtosecond to seconds via triggering by a short light pulse. ChR2 photocycle consists of four intermediates. One of them, P3520, is well established to be conductive for cations. Work is in progress to reveal how the ChR2 photocycle is connected to cation permeation, as well as to its remnant light-induced proton pump activity. Less is even known about ChR1 photocycle and its functional mechanism.

Retinalproteine

Mikrobielle Rhodopsine besitzen, genauso wie der Sehrezeptor Rhodopsin und die G-Protein gekoppelten Rezeptoren, sieben Helices welche die Membran durchspannen. Rhodopsine besitzen ein Retinal als Chromophor (Chemisch ähnlich zum Vitamin A), welches an ein Lysin über eine protonierte Schiffsche Base (SB) gebunden ist. Die lichtinduzierte Isomerisation des Retinals (meistens vom all-trans zum 13-cis) startet eine zyklische Reaktion: den Photozyklus.

br-cycle

Bacteriorhodopsin. Das zuerst entdeckte und bisher am besten untersuchte mikrobielle Rhodopsin ist die lichtgetriebene Protonenpumpe Bacteriorhodopsin (bR). Nach Anregung mit grünem Licht deprotoniert die SB in weniger als hundert Mikrosekunden. Dies führt zu einer Reihe von weiteren Protonentransferreaktionen die unterm Strich zu einem vektoriellen Protonentransport von der cytoplasmatischen zur extrazellulären Seite führen und in der Wiederherstellung des Grundzustandes enden. Kontrovers diskutiert wird die Gruppe, welche für die Abgabe des Protons auf der extrazellularen Seite zuständig ist. Vieles deutet darauf hin, dass es um ein Netzwerk aus protonierten Wassermolekülen handelt.

Sensorrhodopsin I. Im Gegensatz zu bR ist das Sensorrhodopsin I (sRI) nicht in der Energiegewinnung involviert sondern agiert als Lichtsensor (Phototaxis). Absorbiert sRI oranges Licht führt dies zu einer Isomerisierung des Retinals und zur Bildung des Intermediates S373, in welchem die Schiffsche Base deprotoniert vorliegt. Dieser Prozess führt zu einem anziehenden Signal, so dass sich die Zelle zur Lichtquelle hin bewegt. Im Gegensatz dazu führt die Absorption eines zweiten Photons im nahen UV-Bereich zu einem abstoßenden Signal, so dass sich die Zelle von der Lichtquelle weg bewegt. Die durch das Anregungslicht induzierten Konformationsänderungen werden an Htr I übertragen, einem Membranprotein das mit dem sRI assoziiert ist. Die konkrete Kommunikation zwischen diesen beiden Proteinen ist nur zum Teil bekannt. Dieser Komplex repräsentiert ein Modelsystem welches Aufschluss über die allgemeine Signaltransduktion zwischen Proteinen gibt.

br-cycle

Kanalrhodopsin. Kanalrhodopsine (ChRs) sind die ersten und soweit einzigen lichtgetriebenen Ionenkanäle die in der Natur vorkommen. ChR1 und ChR2 dienen als in der einzelligen Grünalge Chlamydomonas reinhardtii als Rezeptor für Phototaxis. Nach Lichtaktivierung werden sie vorrübergehend durchlässig für Protonen und Kationen (Na+, K+ und Ca2+) was zu einer lichtkontrollierten Depolarisation der Membran führt. In Nervenzellen können somit Aktionspotentiale durch Lichtanregung erzeugt werden, wenn ChR2 in den Membranen expremiert wurde, d.h. Optogenetik. Einzigartig macht die ChRs, dass ihr funktionaler Mechanismus in einem Zeitbereich von Femtosekunden bis Sekunden mit Hilfe kurzer Lichtpulse untersucht werden kann. Der Photozyklus von ChR2 weist vier Intermediate auf, unter anderem den offenen Zustand P3520. Zurzeit wird die Verknüpfung zwischen dem Photozyklus und der Kationendurchlässigkeit, die lichtinduzierte Protonenpumpaktivität sowie der Photozyklus und die Funktion des ChR1 untersucht.