baseIdentityBild_home

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kuch

Department of Physics

Institute of Experimental Physics

Spectroscopy and spectromicroscopy of new magnetic materials

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kuch
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kuch
AddressArnimallee 14
Room 1.2.40
14195 Berlin, Germany
Wheelchair AccessHandicapped ParkingElevator at least 140 x 110 cmHandicapped Bathroom
OfficeMarion Badow (Tel. +49-30-838 56141)
Telephone+49-30-838 52098
Fax+49-30-838 452098
Emailmarion.badow@fu-berlin.de
EmailWolfgang Kuch
HomepageResearch
Publications

Office hours

Thursdays 2–3 p.m.

Please note: No office hours on December 8th.

Research topics:

We conduct research into magnetic ultrathin films and multilayer systems, surfaces, nanostructures, and adsorbed molecules. The aim of our work is to perform fundamental research into innovative functional properties that are relevant to applications in magnetic data storage, for magnetic sensors, or in magnetic electronics. Alongside ferromagnetic resonance, scanning tunneling microscopy, and the magneto-optical Kerr effect, we also use the BESSY synchrotron radiation source for spectroscopic and spectral microscopic experiments (XMCD, PEEM). Current topics of focus include:

Ultrathin antiferromagnetic films: Our goal in this field is to achieve an understanding of the interaction of antiferromagnetic films with magnetic layers. There are a number of open questions in this area that are relevant at the application level, questions we are exploring using various systems, such as FeMn, NiMn, and CoO.

Magnetization dynamics: Using ferromagnetic resonance, we examine what mechanisms are relevant to damping the precession of magnetization in thin films and multilayer systems.

Time-resolved measurements in remagnetization dynamics: To achieve this, short magnetic field pulses are synchronized with synchrotron radiation pulses. This enables researchers to examine how a sample reacts to the short field pulses stroboscopically, using magnetic microscopy.

Interaction mechanisms in magnetic multilayer systems: In this field, we are particularly interested in interactions that occur specifically in the case of magnetic or morphological nanostructuring, such as the influence magnetic layers exert on each other as a result of local stray fields.

Switchable molecules on surfaces: The rapidly progressing miniaturization in microelectronics leads to the vision of using switchable molecules as functional parts of a future molecular nanotechnology. We are interested in the interaction between magnetic molecules and ferromagnetic substrates, in the adsorption properties of isomerization switches or ring-opening/ring-closing switches, as well as in the intermolecular interactions within ensembles of adsorbed molecules.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Kuch

Fachbereich Physik

Institut für Experimentalphysik

Prof. Kuch

Prof. Kuch

Spektroskopie und Spektromikroskopie an neuen magnetischen Materialien

Adresse
Arnimallee 14
Raum 1.2.40
14195 Berlin, Germany
Se­kre­ta­ri­at
Marion Badow (Tel. +49-30-838 56141)
Fax
+49-30-838 452098

Sprech­zei­ten

Donnerstags 15:00–16:00 Uhr

(Am 13.02. findet die Sprechstunde von 14–15 Uhr statt)

Forschungsthemen

Untersucht werden magnetische ultradünne Filme und Mehrschichtsysteme, Oberflächen, Nanostrukturen und adsorbierte Moleküle. Ziel ist dabei die grundlegende Erforschung neuartiger funktionaler Eigenschaften, die für Anwendungen in der magnetischen Datenspeicherung, für magnetische Sensoren oder in der Magnetoelektronik relevant sind. Neben Ferromagnetischer Resonanz, Rastertunnelmikroskopie und magneto-optischem Kerr-Effekt nutzen wir auch die Synchrotronstrahlungsquelle BESSY für spektroskopische und spektromikroskopische Untersuchungen (XMCD, PEEM). Aktuelle Schwerpunkte sind:

Ultradünne antiferromagnetische Filme: Ziel ist hier das Verständnis der Wechselwirkung antiferromagnetischer Filme mit magnetischen Schichten. Dabei gibt es einige für Anwendungen relevante offene Fragestellungen, die wir an verschiedenen Systemen wie FeMn, NiMn oder CoO untersuchen.

Magnetisierungsdynamik: Mittels Ferromagnetischer Resonanz untersuchen wir, welche Mechanismen für die Dämpfung der Präzession der Magnetisierung in dünnen Filmen und Mehrschichtsystemen relevant sind.

Zeitaufgelöste Messungen der Ummagnetisierungsdynamik: Dazu werden kurze Magnetfeldpulse mit Synchrotronstrahlungspulsen synchronisiert. Damit kann man stroboskopisch die Reaktion einer Probe auf die kurzen Feldpulse mit Hilfe magnetischer Mikroskopie untersuchen.

Wechselwirkungsmechanismen in magnetischen Mehrschichtsystemen: Hier interessieren uns besonders Wechselwirkungen, die speziell bei magnetischer oder morphologischer Nanostrukturierung auftreten, wie zum Beispiel die gegenseitige Beeinflussung magnetischer Schichten durch lokale Streufelder.

Schaltbare Moleküle auf Oberflächen: Im Zuge einer rapide fortschreitenden Miniaturisierung eröffnen Moleküle als Bausteine einer zukünftigen "molekularen Nanotechnologie" die Vision einer extremen Integration funktioneller Eigenschaften. Uns interessieren die Wechselwirkungen zwischen magnetischen Molekülen und ferromagnetischen Substraten, die Adsorptionseigenschaften von Isomerisierungs- oder Ringöffnungsschaltern auf Metalloberflächen sowie die intermolekularen Wechselwirkungen in adsorbierten Molekülensembles.