AG Gross

AG Groß

Prof. Dr. Eberhard K.U. Groß

Raum: 1.4.11
Sekretariat: Gabriele Ruder
Raum: 1.4.18, Tel.: 554 248

Mitarbeiter Homepage

Research topics:

This research group deals with the theoretical description of correlation effects in many-body systems. The group is currently working on the following areas of focus:

  • Interactions between strong lasers and materials: We use computer simulations to examine atomic ionization processes in strong laser fields, as well as the ionization and dissociation dynamics of small molecules. Our objective is the optimum control of ultra-short-time dynamics through appropriately shaped laser pulses. In another project, we calculate the linear and nonlinear optical properties of solid-state systems, especially the excitonic dynamics in semiconductors.
  • Superconductivity: We calculate the material-specific properties of conventional superconductors, such as the critical temperature, ab initio using a newly developed variant of density functional theory. Using this formalism, we also try to understand the pairing mechanism in the high-TC materials. We examine the relativistic effects occurring in superconductors, particularly the phenomenon of dichroism, using multilayer structures that alternate superconductive and normal conductive properties.
  • Molecular electronics: The basic idea behind molecular electronics is to use individual molecules as components to build electronic circuits. Using a basis derived from quantum mechanics, we calculate the voltage characteristics of individual molecules and how they can be influenced, for instance through exposure to light.

physik_image

AG Groß

Prof. Dr. Eberhard K.U. Groß

Raum: 1.4.11
Sekretariat: Gabriele Ruder
Raum: 1.4.18, Tel.: 554 248

Mitarbeiter Homepage

Forschungsthemen

Die Arbeitsgruppe beschäftigt sich mit der theoretischen Beschreibung von Korrelationseffekten im Vielteilchensystem. Zur Zeit werden die folgenden Schwerpunkte bearbeitet:

Wechselwirkung starker Laser mit Materie: Atomare Ionisationsprozesse in starken Laserfeldern, sowie die Ionisations- und Dissoziationsdynamik kleiner Moleküle untersuchen wir mit Hilfe von Computersimulationen. Zielsetzung ist die optimale Kontrolle der Ultrakurzzeitdynamik durch geeignet geformte Laserpulse. In einen weiteren Projekt berechnen wir lineare und nichtlineare optische Eigenschaften von Festkörpern, insbesondere die exzitonische Dynamik in Halbleitern.

Supraleitung: Materialspezifische Eigneschaften konventioneller Supraleiter, wie etwa die kritische Temperatur berechnen wir "ab-inito" mit einer neu entwickelten Variante der Dichtefunktionaltheorie. Mit diesem Formalismus versuchen wir auch, den Paarungsmechanismus in den Hoch-Tc-Materialien zu verstehen. Relativistische Effekte in Supraleitern, insbesondere das Phänomen des Dichroismus untersuchen wir an abwechselnd supra- und normalleitenden Multilagen.

Molekulare Elekronik: Der Grundgedanke der molekularen Elektronik ist es, einzelne Moleküle als Bauelemente alektronischer Schaltkreise zu verwenden. Auf quantenmechanischer Grundlage berechnen wir die Stromspannungs-Charakteristik einzelner Moleküle und wie diese z. B. durch Einstrahlung von Licht beeinflusst werden kann.