Springe direkt zu Inhalt

M.Sc. Federico Baserga

Exploring how "simpler" concepts in physics and chemistry quickly develop into complex structures in nature always fascinated me. Oddly enough, I discovered my interest in biological systems while working on my theoretical bachelor’s thesis. After graduating from the University of Insubria in Como, I decided to pursue my studies at the Freie Universität Berlin.

In my master’s, I focused on the field of biophysics. I graduated in April 2017 with a thesis on the mitochondrial membrane protein Cytochrome c Oxidase. My thesis explored how applying different electrical potentials to this protein affects the redox states of the metals inside it, and how this leads to structural changes in its structure.

After my master’s, I quickly jumped into my PhD, in which I continue to study Heme-containing proteins. Using lasers and IR spectroscopy, I attempt to answer new experimental questions. I also construct fluidic and gas cells, which I consider a very satisfactory part of my work.

Federico Baserga

Department of Physics

Institute of Experimental Physics

Experimental Molecular Biophysics

Researcher

Address
Arnimallee 14
Room 1.1.35
14195 Berlin

- Federico Baserga, born 1988 in Como (IT).
- Bachelor of science 2014, Università degli studi dell'Insubria
- Master of science 2017, Freie Universität Berlin

My research interest is to investigate the catalytic cycle of Cytochrome c Oxidase (CcO). This is an extremely important enzyme in our body: it is mainly in CcO that the oxygen we breathe is used as a substrate, contributing to the proton motive force necessary for ATP synthesis. Nevertheless, we still do not understand completely how this enzyme performs its catalysis. Using ATR-FTIR spectroscopy, as well as visible spectroscopy, I employ electrochemical and chemical methods to poise and study physiologically relevant states. Using time-resolved IR spectroscopy and Quantum Cascade Lasers, I monitor reactions caused by different triggers.

Baserga F, Dragelj J, Kozuch J, Mohrmann H, Knapp E-W, Stripp ST and Heberle J
Quantification of Local Electric Field Changes at the Active Site of Cytochrome c Oxidase by Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroelectrochemical Titrations
Front. Chem. 9:669452 (2021); doi: 10.3389/fchem.2021.669452

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

M.Sc. Federico Baserga

Ich war immer fasziniert davon, wie sich „einfachere“ Konzepte der Physik und Chemie schnell in komplexe Strukturen in der Natur entwickeln. Komischerweise habe ich mein Interesse an biologische Systeme entdeckt, während ich meine theoretische Bachelorarbeit geschrieben habe. Nach meinem Abschluss an der Universität von Insubrien in Como, habe ich mich entschieden mein Studium an der Freien Universität Berlin fortzusetzen.

In meinem Master habe ich mich auf das Feld der Biophysik fokussiert. Dieses Studium habe ich im April 2017 mit einer Arbeit über das mitochondriale Membranprotein Cytochrom c Oxidase. Ich habe untersucht wie das Protein sich unter verschiedenen elektrischen Potenzialen verhält.

Nach meinem Masterabschluss begann ich mein Doktorat, in dessen Rahmen ich mich weiterhin mit Hämoproteinen beschäftige. Mit Hilfe von Lasern und Infrarotspektroskopie versuche ich neue experimentelle Fragen zu beantworten. Ich konstruiere außerdem verschiedene Zellen.

Federico Baserga

Fachbereich Physik

Institut für experimentelle Physik

Experimentelle Molekulare Biophysik

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Adresse
Arnimallee 14
Raum 1.1.35
14195 Berlin

- Federico Baserga, 1988 in Como (IT) geboren.
- Bachelor of science 2014, Università degli studi dell'Insubria
- Master of science 2017, Freie Universität Berlin

Mein Forschungsinteresse liegt in der Untersuchung des Katalysezyklus von Cytochrom c Oxidase (CcO). Ein großer Teil des Sauerstoffs, den wir einatmen, wird von CcO als Substrat verwendet. Damit trägt das Enzym zur chemiosmotischen Kopplung bei, welche für die ATP- Bildung nötig ist. Noch haben wir kein vollständiges Verständnis davon, wie dieses Protein genau funktioniert. Unter Verwendung von ATR-FTIR-Spektroskopie, sichtbarer Spektroskopie, chemischer Methoden sowie Elektrochemie untersuche ich die relevanten Zustände von CcO. Mit Hilfe zeitaufgelöster IR-Spektroskopie und Quantenkaskadenlaser beobachte ich Reaktionen, die von verschiedenen Triggern hervorgerufen werden.

Baserga F, Dragelj J, Kozuch J, Mohrmann H, Knapp E-W, Stripp ST and Heberle J
Quantification of Local Electric Field Changes at the Active Site of Cytochrome c Oxidase by Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroelectrochemical Titrations
Front. Chem. 9:669452 (2021); doi: 10.3389/fchem.2021.669452