Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Research

We do research in the area of Gender Studies in STEM and "Science and Technology Studies" (STS) on physics. One focus lies on intersectional research of science cultures. Using a mix of qualitative methods such as ethnographies and interviews, we investigate how categories of social inequality are inscribed in the culture and practices of “doing physics”. Another focus is on the interrelations between science, technology and society. The close ties of the research group to the department of physics enable a direct integration of research results into research, teaching and the cultures of physics.

Science cultures are complex structures of attitudes, norms and routines of practice that by many members of a scientific discipline are more or less taken for granted. Adopting to those implicit norms and routines can foster a sense of belonging to the community. We analyse the impact of categories such as gender, race, and the social background of researchers for these processes of becoming a fully-fledged member of a scientific community. Beyond this we are interested inasmuch how these categories shape the production of scientific knowledge and even contribute to the co-production of emerging technologies. We ask for instance, in which ways do certain technologies reproduce and reinforce existing social equalities by excluding potential users? 

Another focus deals with the interaction of science, technology and society and analyses the potentials and challenges of diversity-sensitive participatory design in science and technology. How can society participate in the political and content-related modelling of ideas and technologies? As consumers, users, or co-creators, people of wide-ranging backgrounds can substantially contribute to alternative perspectives on gender, class, race, age and other categories of diversity, that should be accounted for when engaging in participatory processes.  

Our research perspective offers a broadening of physics around sociologically relevant issues and thus contributes to raising awareness of gender and diversity issues.

Our research perspectives will open the professional horizon of physics for sociologically relevant questions that have been given little consideration to this date and shall thereby sensitize the discipline for gender and diversity issues.

For physicists affected by the war in Ukraine

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Forschung

Wir forschen im Bereich der Gender Studies in MINT und der "Science and Technology Studies" (STS) mit Fokus auf die Physik. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der intersektionalen Fachkulturforschung. Mit einem qualitativen Methodenmix aus ethnographischen Elementen und Interviews untersuchen wir, wie Kategorien sozialer Ungleichheit in den Fach- und Wissenskulturen der Physik zur Wirkung kommen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt befasst sich mit dem Ineinanderwirken von Wissenschaft, Technologien und Gesellschaft. Die Anbindung der Arbeitsgruppe an den Fachbereich Physik ermöglicht dabei eine direkte Kooperation mit den Forschungsakteur*innen aus der Physik. Forschungsergebnisse können so direkt in Forschung, Lehre und Fachkultur einfließen.

Fachkulturen sind komplexe Gefüge von Einstellungen, impliziten Regeln und Handlungsroutinen, die von den meisten Angehörigen des betroffenen Faches als selbstverständlich wahrgenommen werden und über die die Zugehörigkeit zu einer wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft hergestellt wird. Wir untersuchen, welche Rolle dabei Faktoren wie Gender, Race und soziale Herkunft der Forschenden spielen. Wie wirken sie in wissenserzeugende Praktiken hinein? Welche Auswirkungen lassen sich bis in die Anwendungskontexte der Physik und den damit verknüpften Technologien nachverfolgen? In welchem Maße werden also beispielsweise bestehende soziale Ungleichheiten reproduziert und verstärkt, wenn die Verwendung einer bestimmten Technologie nicht für alle potentiellen Nutzer*innengruppen gleichermaßen möglich oder erstrebenswert ist, oder wenn schon in ihrem Design gewisse Nutzungskontexte eingeschrieben sind und andere ausgeschlossen werden? 

Daraus leitet sich ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ab, der sich mit dem Ineinanderwirken von Wissenschaft, Technologien und Gesellschaft befasst und Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen partizipativer Wissenschafts- und Technologiegestaltung unter Diversitätsaspekten analysiert und erprobt. Wie kann Gesellschaft an der politischen und inhaltlichen Gestaltung von Wissenschaft und neuen Technologien partizipieren? Als Konsument*innen, Nutzer*innen oder auch Mitgestalter*innen können Bürger*innen je nach Geschlecht, sozialer Herkunft, Alter und anderer Diversitätskategorien hier verschiedene Perspektiven einbringen, welche in der Entwicklung partizipativer Verfahren berücksichtigt werden sollten. 

Durch die in der AG angestrebten Forschungsperspektiven wird der fachliche Horizont der Physik für die bisher wenig berücksichtigten Aspekte von soziologisch basierten Fragestellungen geöffnet und für Gender- und Diversity Fragen sensibilisiert.

For physicists affected by the war in Ukraine