Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Klung Wilhelmy Science Award in Physics 2023

Dec 07, 2023


Prof. Dr. Hannes Bernien

Prof. Dr. Hannes Bernien
Image Credit: University of Chicago

The Klung-Wilhelmy Science Prize is awarded to outstanding junior researchers. The prize is awarded to scientists in physics and chemistry in an annual rotation as part of a cooperation between Otto Klung Foundation at Freie Universität Berlin and  Dr. Wilhelmy Foundation.

Award Ceremony on December 7, 2023 at 5 pm

Hannes Bernien has been Assistant Professor at the Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering (PME) at the University of Chicago (USA) since 2019. He studies quantum many-body physics and quantum information processing, and seeks to develop new ways of engineering large, complex quantum systems. His academic career has taken him from studying physics at Leibniz Universität Hannover (Diploma 2009), to completing his PhD Cum Laude in 2014 under the supervision of Prof. R. Hanson at Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands, and finally to Harvard University (USA) in 2015 as a postdoctoral fellow with Prof. M. Lukin.

Bernien has received numerous awards and prizes for his research, including the New Horizons in Physics Prize (2023), the Sloan Research Fellowship (2021), and the International Quantum Technology Young Scientist Award (2020).

The ceremony will be held in German only. Registration is required.

Time & Location

Dec 07, 2023

Henry Ford Building of Freie Universität Berlin (Garystr. 35, 14195 Berlin).

Further Information

The event is aimed at

students, researchers, employees of Freie Universität Berlin and external guests

About Klung Wilhelmy Science Award

The stated aim of the Otto Klung Foundation and the Dr. Wilhelmy Foundation is to strengthen the promotion of outstanding scientific achievements and to reward internationally accredited innovative approaches. The excellent cooperation of the selection committees of chemistry and of physics at Freie Universität Berlin as well as their expert and farsighted recommendations will secure the outstanding position of the Klung Wilhelmy Science Award in the future.

The Award is bestowed under the patronage of the German Federal Minister of Education and Research, Bettina Stark-Watzinger. It is one of the most prestigious scientific awards for younger German chemists and physicists, not least because five of the previously chosen Award Winners later received the Nobel Prize. Other Klung Wilhelmy Science Award Winners have also been awarded important national and international prizes.


  • 2023
  • Award Ceremony
  • Award in Physics
  • Hannes Bernien
  • Klung Wilhelmy Science Award
  • quantum physics
  • quantum technology
  • Science Award