Portrait of the Department

Turm

Along with its well-known humanities and social science departments, the Freie Universität also has a number of science departments that, while smaller, are still very active. One prominent example of this group is the Department of Physics.

 

The University’s first institute of physics was established shortly after the founding of the University itself, in 1948. It was housed in the building that was formerly home to the Kaiser Wilhelm Institute of Physics, where Heisenberg and Debye had previously worked. Today’s Department of Physics was founded at the beginning of the 1970s, when the University was reorganized and underwent extensive expansion. At the same time, planning work was begun on a new building, to which the department moved after its completion, in 1982. Since then the Department of Physics has enjoyed an excellent working environment, enhanced by its location in the leafy urban district of Dahlem.

 

The department’s work traditionally focuses on basic research. Current areas of interest include topics in solid-state and cluster physics, biophysics, and theoretical physics. The spectrum of individual subjects covered ranges from physical surfaces and their structures to biologically important molecules, from mathematical models to the theory associated with new materials. The department maintains a strong position in particular in the observation and manipulation of atoms on surfaces. Another of its strengths is the use of ultra-short light pulses to track chemical reactions. The department is home to three collaborative research centers (Sonderforschungsbereiche) and individual research groups are involved in a number of additional areas and priority programs.

Arnimallee

At present, 20 professors work within the department, together with their groups. Of the faculty, 14 professors work in experimental physics, five in theoretical physics, and one in physics education. Three other professors primarily work at the Helmholtz Centre Berlin and/or Max Born Institute. The department also maintains close ties with other research institutions in Berlin. It is furthermore active at the BESSY II synchrotron in the Adlershof district of Berlin, where it has its own beamlines.

 

The number of students currently studying in the department is about 500 and rising. About 20% of them are women. As a result of the extensive research the department conducts, the number of graduate students studying toward doctorates is also high, at nearly 100. The department maintains extensive contact with schools and established a special laboratory for school pupils in March, 2003. Specific teaching of physics plays a major role in these activities.

Fachbereich Physik der Freien Universität Berlin

Turm
Turm
Arnimallee
Arnimallee

Die Freie Universität besitzt neben den bekannteren Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften auch eine Reihe zahlenmäßig kleiner, doch sehr aktiver naturwissenschaftlicher Fachbereiche. Zu ihnen gehört insbesondere die Physik.

Ein erstes physikalisches Institut wurde schon kurz nach der Gründung der Universität im Jahre 1948 eingerichtet und zwar im Gebäude des früheren Kaiser-Wilhelm-Institutes für Physik, an dem zuvor Heisenberg und Debye gearbeitet hatten. Der heutige Fachbereich entstand Anfang der siebziger Jahre, als die Universität neu gegliedert und stark ausgebaut wurde.  In dieser Zeit begann auch die Planung eines Neubaues, der im Jahre 1982 bezogen werden konnte. Die Physik besitzt seitdem sehr gute Arbeitsbedingungen, zu denen auch die Lage im grünen Stadtteil Dahlem beiträgt.

Die Arbeit des Fachbereiches ist traditionell auf Grundlagenforschung ausgerichtet und seine Schwerpunkte liegen derzeit auf Themen der Festkörper-, Cluster- und Biophysik, sowie der theoretischen Physik. Im einzelnen reicht der Bogen von Oberflächen und ihren Strukturen bis zu biologisch wichtigen Molekülen, von mathematischen Modellen bis zur Theorie neuer Materialien. Insbesondere bei der Beobachtung und der Manipulation von Atomen auf Oberflächen hält er eine Spitzenstellung. Eine weitere Stärke ist die Verwendung ultrakurzer Lichtpulse zur Verfolgung chemischer Reaktionen. Er ist Sitz zweier Sonderforschungsbereiche und einzelne Arbeitsgruppen sind an mehreren weiteren Schwerpunktprogrammen beteiligt.

Am Fachbereich gibt es 17 Soll-Professuren mit ihren Gruppen, davon 11 in Experimentalphysik, 5 in theoretischer Physik und eine in Fachdidaktik. Darüber hinaus gibt es weitere Professuren  die schwerpunktmäßig am Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (Standorte Wannsee und Adlershof) bzw. am Max-Born-Institut angesiedelt sind. Daneben gibt es enge Beziehungen zu weiteren Berliner Forschungsinstituten. Der Fachbereich nutzt auch das neue Synchrotron BESSY II in Berlin-Adlershof und hat dort eigene Messplätze.

Die Zahl der Studierenden beträgt derzeit rund 500, mit steigender Tendenz. Durch die umfangreiche Forschung ist auch die Zahl der Doktoranden hoch und liegt bei knapp 100. Etwa 20 % davon sind Frauen. Der Fachbereich unterhält umfangreiche Kontakte zu Schulen und hat im März 2003 ein spezielles Schülerlabor eingerichtet. Bei diesen Aktivitäten spielt die Fachdidaktik eine wesentliche Rolle.