Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ultrafast Physics

A beam of femtosecond laser pulses excites ultafast  processes in a magnetic material.

A beam of femtosecond laser pulses excites ultafast processes in a magnetic material.
Image Credit: Andrea Grützner; Research Group Kampfrath

We use femtosecond laser pulses with wavelengths ranging from the terahertz to the x-ray regime in order to record “movies” of extremely fast processes in magnetic materials and biological molecules.

This allows us to resolve the dynamics of materials and reveal unprecedented properties in ultrashort timesteps of only 0.000 000 000 000 01 seconds. These insights may be used in the future to develop smaller and faster applications in process engineering and information technology.

Research Focus

Ultrafast physics is an important research field in our department. Besides investigating questions related to atomic and molecular physics, we explore in particular ultrafast dynamics in solids, thin films, and surfaces. Obtaining a fundamental understanding of ultrafast spin dynamics in these systems allows, for example, to develop spin-based information technology. Using the spins of electrons has enormous potential for applications in future magnetic storage devices and logic devices with simpler architecture and reduced power consumption.

In both, our experimental and theoretical groups, we investigate the response of magnetic order or so-called spin currents upon excitation with ultrafast laser pulses on the femtosecond timescale (10-15 s). These extremely short time scales are reached when ballistic electrons  travel over nanometer distances. While future applications will require such short timescales and correspondingly terahertz bandwidths, today's spin-based magnetoelectronic devices still work with 100–1.000 times slower clock rates.

Research towards Ultrafast Technologies

Our research activities focus on phenomena in novel materials and on nanoscale structures.

Analysis and control of ultrafast spin dynamics open exciting long-term perspectives for technological applications: Developers could use femtosecond spin dynamics for novel functionalities in future ultrafast technologies.

Our Research Methods

  • Ultrafast Pump-Probe Spectroscopy (UV, VIS, IR, THz)

  • X-Ray Spectroscopy (X-Ray Scattering and Reflectivity)

  • Photoemission (Time-, Angle-, and Spin-Resolved) and Photoelectron Microscopy

  • Nonlinear Frequency Generation (SHG)

  • Magneto-Optical Kerr Effect (MOKE)

  • Ultrafast THz Scanning Tunneling Microscopy

  • Time-Dependent Density-Functional Theory (TD-DFT)

  • (Spin-Dependent) Transport Theory

  • Atomistic (Spin-)Dynamics Simulations

  • Coherent Control Theory and Optimal Control Theory

Collaborative Research Center "Ultrafast Spin Dynamics"

We investigate ultrafast spin dynamics and lay the foundations for spin-based information technology that can be operated at THz clock rates.

For physicists affected by the war in Ukraine

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Ultrakurzzeitphysik

Ein Strahl von Femtosekunden-Laserimpulsen regt extrem schnelle Prozesse in einem magnetischen Material an. @ AG Kampfrath

Ein Strahl von Femtosekunden-Laserimpulsen regt extrem schnelle Prozesse in einem magnetischen Material an. @ AG Kampfrath
Bildquelle: Andrea Grützner

Wir nutzen Femtosekunden-Laserimpulse vom Terahertz- bis in den Röntgenbereich, um Filme von extrem schnellen Vorgängen in magne­tischen Materialien und biologischen Molekülen aufzunehmen.

Dabei offenbaren sich uns noch nie gesehene Eigenschaften von Materialien, deren Dynamik mit ultrakurzen Zeitschritten von nur 0,000 000 000 000 01 Sekunden aufgelöst werden kann. Diese Einblicke könnten in Zukunft genutzt werden, um neuartige, kleinere und schnellere Anwendungen in der Prozess- und Informationstechnologie zu entwickeln.

Forschungsfokus

In der am Fachbereich stark ausgeprägten Ultrakurzzeitphysik wird neben atom- und molekülphysikalischen Fragestellungen insbesondere die ultraschnelle Dynamik in Festkörpern, dünnen Schichten und an Oberflächen erforscht. Zum Beispiel liefert das fundamentale Verständnis der ultraschnellen Spindynamik in diesen Systemen die Grundlage für eine spinbasierte Informationstechnologie, da Spins der Elektronen ein enormes Anwendungspotenzial für zukünftige magnetische Speicher und Logikbauelemente mit einfacher Architektur und reduziertem Stromverbrauch besitzen.

Wie sich die magnetische Ordnung oder sogenannte Spinströme nach Anregung mit ultrakurzen Laserpulsen auf der Femtosekundenskala (10-15 s) verhalten, wird sowohl in den experimentellen Arbeitsgruppen als auch in den Theorie-Gruppen untersucht. Diese extrem kurzen Zeitskalen werden von den Elektronen beim ballistischen Transport über Nanometer-Distanzen erreicht. Während zukünftige Anwendungen solch hohe Geschwindigkeiten und entsprechende Terahertz (THz)-Bandbreiten erfordern, arbeiten die meisten heutigen spinbasierten, magnetoelektronischen Bauelemente mit 100-1000fach niedrigeren Taktraten.

Forschung mit dem Ziel, ultraschnelle Technologien möglich zu machen

Unsere Forschung konzentriert sich auch auf neuartige Phänomene in bisher wenig untersuchten Materialklassen und in nanoskaligen Strukturen.

Die Analyse und Steuerung der ultraschnellen Spindynamik bilden die Basis für unser langfristiges Ziel: Die Übertragung von Femtosekunden-Spindynamik in neuartige Funktionalitäten für zukünftige ultraschnelle Technologien.

Unsere Untersuchungsmethoden

  • Ultraschnelle Anrege-Abfrage-Spektroskopie (UV, VIS, IR, THz)
  • Röntgenspektroskopie (Röntgenstreuung und -reflektivität)
  • Photoemission (zeit-, winkel- und spinaufgelöst) sowie Photoelektronen-Mikroskopie
  • Nichtlineare Frequenzerzeugung (SHG)
  • Magnetooptischer Kerr-Effekt (MOKE)
  • Ultraschnelle THz-Rastertunnelmikroskopie
  • Zeitabhängige Dichtefunktional-Theorie (TD-DFT)
  • (Spinabhängige) Transporttheorie
  • Atomistische (Spin-)Dynamik-Simulation
  • Theorie der kohärenten und optimalen Kontrolle
For physicists affected by the war in Ukraine