Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Biophysics

Nanoscopic study of a single protein; Research Group Heberle

Nanoscopic study of a single protein; Research Group Heberle

In Biophysics, we describe physical processes within biological systems and uncover functions of biological macromolecules.

We work at the interface between animate and inanimate world. We aim to describe fundamental processes and the basis of life. 

We learn from nature to inspire us such as to develop new nanomaterials for solar energy harvesting or to apply existing biomaterials for technical solutions of today's and tomorrows challenges.

Focus of research

In biophysics, one of our main research topics in the physics department, we study on the molecular level the function of biologically relevant macromolecules. Proteins, for instance, are fascinating molecular machines at the nanoscale. Within living organisms, they are responsible for fundamental processes like biological energy conversion, catalysis or cellular signal transmission.

In order to understand the function of proteins down to microscopic details, we need to learn about their structure, dynamics in time and interaction with their environment. The biophysics research groups of our department use a wide portfolio of modern molecular biophysics methods like crystallography, spectroscopy and molecular dynamic simulations to perform research on biomacromolecules. Also, we keep on improving our experimental and theoretical techniques in order to increase sensitivity in temporal and spatial resolution.

In practice, questions addressed in our department’s research topics in biophysics include structure, dynamics and control of photoreceptors, channels and transporters, as well as mechanisms in signal transmission, conformational switching and electron and proton transfer.

 Our Research Methods

  • Vibrational Spectroscopy (FT-IR and Raman)
  • X-Ray Spectroscopy
  • Ultrafast Pump-Probe Spectroscopy
  • Electron Spin Resonance and Single Molecule Spectroscopy
  • Molecular Dynamics Simulations
  • Quantum Mechanical Modelling

Collaborative Research Center SFB 1078 - Protonation Dynamics in Protein Function

We work jointly with other research institutes to identify and understand a new key principal in protein science, namely the control and coordination of complex protein function by protonation dynamics.

Humedics - Our biophysics spin-off

A research project evolved into a practical application for medicine. The spin-off company has been successful on the market for 10 years.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Biophysik

Nanoskopische Untersuchung eines einzelnen Proteins, AG Heberle

Nanoskopische Untersuchung eines einzelnen Proteins, AG Heberle

In der Biophysik beschreiben wir physikalische Prozesse in biologischen Systemen und decken die Funktion von biologischen Makromolekülen auf.

Wir arbeiten an der Schnittstelle zwischen belebter und unbelebter Welt und wollen fundamentale Prozesse und die Grundlage des Lebens beschreiben.

Wir lernen von der Natur, damit als Beispiel neue Nanomaterialien für Solarenergiegewinnung hergestellt oder vorhandene Biomaterialien für neue technische Lösungen genutzt werden können.

Forschungsfokus

In der Biophysik, als eine unser tragenden Forschungsthemen an unserem Fachbereich, untersuchen wir auf molekularer Ebene die Funktion biologisch relevanter Makromoleküle. Proteine, zum Beispiel, sind faszinierende molekulare Maschinen auf Nanometerskala, die grundlegende Aufgaben in lebenden Organismen wie biologische Energiekonversion, Katalyse oder auch die zelluläre Signalleitung ausführen.

Um die Funktion der Proteine im mikroskopischen Detail verstehen zu können, sind Kenntnisse ihrer Struktur, ihrer zeitlichen Dynamik und ihrer Wechselwirkung mit der Umgebung notwendig. Die biophysikalischen Forschungsgruppen unseres Fachbereichs verwenden ein breites Portfolio der modernen molekularen Biophysik wie Kristallografie, Spektroskopie und molekulardynamische Rechnungen, um die Funktion von Biomakro­molekülen zu erforschen. Dabei werden die experimentellen und theoretischen Techniken hinsichtlich räumlicher und zeitlicher Auflösung sowie Sensitivität weiter verbessert.

Konkrete biophysikalische Forschungsfragestellungen am Fachbereich schließen Struktur, Dynamik und Steuerung von Fotorezeptoren, Kanälen und Transportern sowie Mechanismen der Signalleitung, Konformationsschalten, Elektronen- und Protonentransfer ein.

Unsere Untersuchungsmethoden

  • Schwingungsspektroskopie (FT-IR und Raman)
  • Röntgenspektroskopie
  • Ultraschnelle Anrege-Abfrage-Spektroskopie
  • Elektronenspinresonanz- und Einzelmolekülspektroskopie
  • Molekulardynamik-Simulationen
  • Quantenchemische Berechnungen

Sonderforschungsbereich 1078 - Proteinfunktion durch Protonierungsdynamik

Wir arbeiten daran, die Steuerung komplexer Proteinfunktionen durch Protonierungsdynamik zu entschlüsseln. Der SFB umfasst 17 Forschungsprojekte, die von 22 wissenschaftlichen Experten aus Physik, Chemie und Biologie geleitet werden.

Ausgründung - Humedics

Aus einer Forschungsidee entwickelte sich eine praktische Anwendung für den medizinischen Bereich. Das ausgegründete Unternehmen ist seit 10 Jahren erfolgreich auf dem Markt.

For physicists affected by the war in Ukraine