Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Gender and Science Studies at the Department of Physics

Prof. Dr. Martina Erlemann

Prof. Dr. Martina Erlemann

As one of the few physics departments in Germany, we conduct research in the field of Gender & Science Studies on physics. Research results can thus be directly integrated into research, teaching and the cultures of physics.

Prof. Dr. Martina Erlemann's Research Group

Since 2018, the Research Group of Professor Martina Erlemann has been working in the field of "Gender Studies in STEM" and "Science & Technology Studies", particularly on physics. One focus lies on intersectional research of science cultures. Using a mix of qualitative methods such as ethnographies and interviews, the group investigates how categories of social inequality affect the cultures of physics. Another focus is on the interrelations between science, technology and society.

AG Erlemann

"genderDynamics" and "Diversity in the Cultures of Physic"

Previously from 2012 to 2015, the former research group of Professor Elvira Scheich investigated the interactions between cultures of physics and their organizational structure in the BMBF-funded project "genderDynamics". From 2012 to 2019, we organized the summer schools "Diversity in the Cultures of Physics" for young female physicists, between 2017 and 2019 funded by the Erasmus+ program within the framework of the Strategic Partnerships.

Keywords

  • gender physics
  • gender studies
  • science studies
  • study on gender in physics
  • women in physics
For physicists affected by the war in Ukraine

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Wissenschafts- und Geschlechterforschung der Physik

Prof. Dr. Martina Erlemann

Prof. Dr. Martina Erlemann

Als einer der wenigen Physik-Fachbereiche in Deutschland betreiben wir auch Wissenschafts- und Geschlechterforschung. Forschungsergebnisse aus den Gender & Science Studies zur Physik können so direkt in Forschung, Lehre und Fachkultur einfließen.

Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. Martina Erlemann

Seit 2018 forscht die AG Erlemann im Bereich der „Gender Studies in MINT“ und der „Science and Technology Studies“ mit Fokus auf die Physik. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der intersektionalen Fachkulturforschung. Mit einem qualitativen Methodenmix aus ethnographischen Elementen und Interviews wird untersucht, wie Kategorien sozialer Ungleichheit in den Fach- und Wissenskulturen der Physik zur Wirkung kommen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt befasst sich mit den Wechselbeziehungen zwischen Wissenschaft, Technologie und Gesellschaft.

AG Erlemann

"genderDynamiken" und „Diversity in the Cultures of Physics“

Bereits 2012 bis 2015 wurden in der vormaligen AG Scheich in einem vom BMBF geförderten Projekt „genderDynamiken“ die Zusammenhänge von Fachkulturen und Organisationsformen der Physik untersucht. Von 2012 bis 2019 oganisierten wir Sommerschulen "Diversity in the Cultures of Physics" für junge Physikerinnen*. Die Sommerschulen wurden zwischen 2017 und 2019 vom Erasmus+-Programm im Rahmen einer Strategischen Partnerschaft gefördert.

Schlagwörter

  • frauen in der physik
  • gender studies
  • geschlechterforschung
  • science studies
  • wissenschaftsforschung
For physicists affected by the war in Ukraine