Springe direkt zu Inhalt

CRC 450 - Analysis and control of ultrafast photoinduced reactions (1998-2010)

The research goal was to learn to control electron and nuclear constellation in different material systems using ultrashort laser pulses. The motion sequences triggered in this way were to be characterized in time and, if possible, guided by appropriate design of the irradiated light fields in such a way that a stable, detectable final state was achieved.

In the first funding period, the focus was on the analysis of such photo-induced dynamic processes, both experimentally and theoretically. The optical excitation of the system was mostly performed with a pump pulse as short as possible, while the resulting change of the nuclear coordinates of the system was interrogated with a sample pulse that was also as short as possible and delayed in time.

In the second funding period, the goal of control was also increasingly realized by using more complex excitation fields. In the experiment, the researchers used suitable modulators for this purpose; complementary to this, the theory of optimal control was expanded. And so, in the area of small, still manageable systems with few active degrees of freedom, there was a very gratifying convergence of theory and experiment, paving an essential part of the way toward more complex systems. Even in the more complex systems, the experimental results, in close cooperation with theory, offered very detailed insights into the dynamics of ultrafast photoinduced reactions.

Spokesperson

Prof. Dr. Ludger Wöste

Participating institutions

  • Freie Universität Berlin
  • Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin
  • The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Fritz Haber Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (FHI)
  • Max Born Institute for Nonlinear Optics and Short Pulse Spectroscopy
  • Humboldt University  Berlin
  • Tel-Aviv University
  • University Potsdam

SFB 450

For physicists affected by the war in Ukraine

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

SFB 450: Analyse und Steuerung ultraschneller photoinduzierter Reaktionen (1998-2010)

Das Ziel der gemeinsamen Forschungsaktivitäten war es, in unterschiedlichen materiellen Systemen mittels ultrakurzer Laserpulse Veränderungen der Elektronen- und Kern-Konstellation zu bewirken. Die dabei ausgelösten Bewegungsabläufe sollten zeitlich charakterisiert und durch entsprechende Gestaltung der eingestrahlten Lichtfelder nach Möglichkeit so gelenkt werden, dass ein stabiler, detektierbarer Endzustand erreicht wurde.

In der ersten Förderperiode stand die Analyse solcher photoinduzierter dynamischer Abläufe experimentell wie theoretisch im Vordergrund. Die optische Anregung des Systems erfolgte dabei zumeist mit einem möglichst kurzen Pumppuls, während die resultierende Veränderung der Kernkoordinaten des Systems mit einem ebenfalls möglichst kurzen, zeitlich verzögerten Probepuls abgefragt wurde.

In der zweiten Förderperiode wurde durch den Einsatz komplexerer Anregungsfelder vermehrt auch das Ziel einer Steuerung realisiert. Im Experiment setzten die Forscher dabei geeignete Modulatoren ein; komplementär dazu wurde die Theorie der optimalen Kontrolle ausgebaut. Und so kam es im Bereich kleiner, noch überschaubarer Systeme mit wenigen aktiven Freiheitsgraden zu einer sehr erfreulichen Konvergenz von Theorie und Experiment, womit ein wesentlicher Teil des Weges in Richtung komplexerer Systeme geebnet wurde. Auch bei den komplexeren Systemen boten die experimentellen Ergebnisse in enger Kooperation mit der Theorie sehr detaillierte Einblicke in die Dynamik ultraschneller photoinduzierter Reaktionen.

Sprecher

Prof. Dr. Ludger Wöste

Partner

  • Freie Universität
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie
  • The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Fritz-Haber-Institut der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (FHI)
  • Max-Born-Institut für Nichtlineare Optik und Kurzzeitspektroskopie
  • Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Tel-Aviv University
  • Universität Potsdam

Zum SFB 450

For physicists affected by the war in Ukraine