Springe direkt zu Inhalt

French-German Master's Double Degree Program

Joint program of Institut Polytechnique de Paris and Freie Universität Berlin

French German

French German
Image Credit: joshua-fuller @unsplash

Physics students enrolled in our master's program can also study in a master's double degree program that we offer in collaboration with the Institut Polytechnique de Paris. The program is certified as the course from the Franco-German University (Deutsch-Französische Hochschule, DFH).

Two diplomas in one program

Graduates of the double degree program receive degree certificates from both the Freie Universität Berlin and the Institut Polytechnique de Paris. Besides, graduates receive a certificate of the Franco-German University.

Places in the master's double degree program are limited.

Application

Requirements

Master students of Freie Universität Berlin who have very good German language skills as well as French language skills of about level A2 GeR (or vice versa) are entitled to apply.

Documents

Applications need to consist of the following:

  • informal application letter;
  • certified copy of the Bachelor's certificate attesting the final grade;
  • certified copy of the Master's program transcript;
  • curriculum vitae;
  • motivation letter;
  • recommendation letter of a university lecturer;
  • proof of language skills (e.g., high school degrees, certificates, etc.).

Double Application

Applications have to be submitted online via the online portal of the Institut Polytechnique de Paris (please ignore the application deadlines mentioned there!) and, at the same time, by e-mail to doublemaster@physik.fu-berlin.de.

Deadlines

The regular application deadline is June 30 during the first year of the master's program. If you plan to apply for Erasmus funding in parallel, please submit your application by March 10. If the master's double degree program is to be completed within the standard study period of four semesters, the start of the master's program must be in the winter semester.

Early application

Besides the standard application, we also offer the possibility of an early application. The deadline for the early application is 30. June before starting the master's studies. Candidates will apply in parallel for the master's program in physics of Freie Universität Berlin (deadline for the winter semester: August 15) and the master's double degree program.

The application to the latter is carried out as described above (replace certified transcript of Master course by certified transcript of Bachelor course with current average grade). At the same time, you submit your application for the master's program in physics at the Freie Universität Berlin. Successful candidates of the early application will get a provisional admission to the double degree program, which means they are admitted if their average grade in the first semester of master's studies is 2.0 or better. If the grade is worse, they will have to apply again after the first master's semester. Please see also the FAQ's concerning the Master course.

Curriculum

1st year - coursework phase in Berlin

Double degree master's students who start their studies in Berlin complete the coursework phase of the amount of 60 ECTS credit points in Berlin.

The only difference to the normal master's degree program in physics at Freie Universität Berlin is that "Statistical Physics and Thermodynamics" (10 ECTS) has to be taken as a compulsory-elective course if this or an equivalent module has not yet been completed during the bachelor's program.

2nd year - research phase in Palaiseau / Paris

Double degree master's students spend the second year of the program at Institut Polytechnique de Paris. The studies start at September 1 and will be graded with another 60 ECTS credit points.

There, a coherent research phase of twelve months is completed in one of the scientific working groups. In parallel, compulsory modules (mostly lectures) of a Master-2 program in physics offered by the Institut Polytechnique de Paris will be taken during the first six months in the amount of 30 ECTS credit points, of which 5 points will be spent on expanding French language and cultural literacy.

The Master's thesis will be prepared at the Institut Polytechnique de Paris. The recommended Master-2 program is "Materials Science and Nano-Objects". Students choose their courses in coordination with the program's supervisor.

Funding

Participants in the master's double degree program will receive a monthly mobility allowance of 300 euros/month from the French-German University for ten months during their stay in France.

We endeavour to assist participants by finding affordable accommodation on the campus of Institut Polytechnique de Paris.

Funding by the Erasmus program

Double degree students can receive additional financial support from the Erasmus program on top of the mobility allowance from the Franco-German University. The rate of the Erasmus support is recalculated every semester; it amounted to 390 euros/month in the winter semester 2019/2020.

Please note that you must apply for the Erasmus support before January 31 of the year in which the stay in France commences. In this case, the application for the double degree program has to be submitted already before  March 10 instead of the regular deadline of June 30. Provisional admission to the double degree program has to be converted into a final admission before March 10 or be replaced by a regular application by that date.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

Deutsch-Französischer Doppelmaster in Physik

Gemeinsamer Studiengang des Institut Polytechnique de Paris und der Freien Universität Berlin

Physikstudierende im Masterstudiengang haben die Möglichkeit, an einem Doppelmasterprogramm, das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut Polytechnique de Paris angeboten wird, teilzunehmen. Das Programm ist als Studiengang der Deutsch-Französischen Hochschule akkreditiert.

Zwei Masterabschlüsse in einem Programm

Absolventinnen und Absolventen erhalten je eine Urkunde über den Master of Science in Physik der Freien Universität Berlin und des Institut Polytechnique de Paris. Außerdem erhalten sie ein Zertifikat der Deutsch-Französischen Hochschule.

Die Plätze im Doppelmasterprogramm sind limitiert.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/mfa1Ouialjg" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

YouTube

Bewerbung

Bewerbungsvoraussetzungen

Bewerben können sich Masterstudierende der Physik der Freien Universität Berlin, die über sehr gute deutsche Sprachkenntnisse sowie französische Sprachkenntnisse etwa des Niveaus A2 GeR verfügen (oder umgekehrt).

Doppelte Bewerbung

Bewerbungen sind über das Online-Portal des Institut Polytechnique de Paris (die dort genannten Bewerbungstermine bitte ignorieren!) und gleichzeitig per E-Mail an doublemaster@physik.fu-berlin.de einzureichen.

Bewerbungsunterlagen

Alle Bewerbungen müssen die folgenden Dokumente enthalten:

  • formloses Bewerbungsschreiben;
  • beglaubigte Kopie des Bachelorzeugnisses, aus dem die Abschlussnote hervorgeht;
  • beglaubigte Kopie des Transkripts des Masterstudiums;
  • Lebenslauf;
  • Motivationsschreiben;
  • Stellungnahme bzw. Empfehlung eines Hochschullehrers;
  • Nachweise über Sprachkenntnisse, z.B. Zeugnisse, Bescheinigungen.

Bewerbungsfrist

Die reguläre Bewerbungsfrist ist der 30. Juni während des ersten Studienjahres im Masterstudium. Sollten Sie parallel eine Erasmus-Förderung beantragen wollen, reichen Sie Ihre Bewerbung bitte bis zum 10. März ein. Soll das Doppelmasterprogramm in der Regelstudienzeit von vier Semestern abgeschlossen werden, muss der Beginn des Masterstudiums im Wintersemester sein.

Vorgezogene Bewerbung

Neben der regulären Bewerbung gibt es auch die Möglichkeit der vorgezogenen Bewerbung. Die Bewerbungsfrist hierfür ist der 30. Juni vor Beginn des Masterstudiums. Interessenten können sich so parallel zur Bewerbung für das Masterstudium der Physik an der Freien Universität Berlin (Bewerbungsfrist für das Wintersemester: 15.08.) zusätzlich für das Doppelmasterprogramm bewerben.

Die Bewerbung zum Doppelmasterprogramm erfolgt dabei wie oben beschrieben (Mastertranscript und evtl. noch nicht vorliegende Bachelorurkunde bitte durch beglaubigten Transkript des Bachelorstudiums mit aktueller Durchschnittsnote ersetzen). Gleichzeitig wird eine Bewerbung zum Masterstudium der Physik an der Freien Universität Berlin vorgenommen. Falls beide Bewerbungen erfolgreich sind, erhalten die Bewerberinnen und Bewerber zusätzlich mit der Zulassung zum Masterstudium der Physik auch eine bedingte Zulassung zum Doppelmasterprogramm mit dem Institut Polytechnique de Paris. Diese bedingte Zulassung bietet einen garantierten Zugang zum Doppelmasterprogramm, sofern die Durchschnittsnote der (benoteten) Module des ersten Semesters des Masterstudiums gut (2,0) oder besser ist.

Andernfalls gibt es die Möglichkeit, bis zum 30. Juni des nächsten Jahres (also während des ersten Jahrs des Masterstudiums) eine reguläre Bewerbung zum Doppelmaster einzureichen. Siehe auch die FAQ's zum Masterstudium.

Studienprogramm

Erstes Jahr - Aufbauphase in Berlin

Doppelmaster-Studierende, die ihr Studium in Berlin beginnen, absolvieren die Aufbauphase im Umfang von 60 Leistungspunkten (LP) in Berlin.

Der einzige Unterschied zum normalen Masterstudium der Physik an der Freien Universität Berlin ist, dass im Doppelmasterprogramm innerhalb des Wahlpflichtbereichs das Modul "Statistical Physics and Thermodynamics" (10 LP) gewählt und absolviert werden muss, sofern dieses oder ein äquivalentes Modul nicht bereits im Bachelorstudium absolviert wurde

Zweites Jahr - Forschungsphase in Palaiseau / Paris

Das zweite Jahr des Masterstudiums, ebenfalls 60 LP, verbringen die Teilnehmer des Doppelmasterprogramms dann (ab 01.09.) am Institut Polytechnique de Paris.

Dort wird eine zusammenhängende Forschungsphase von zwölf Monaten in einer der wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgruppen absolviert. Parallel dazu werden während der ersten sechs Monate Pflichtmodule (überwiegend Vorlesungen) eines Master-2-Programms in Physik, das vom Institut Polytechnique de Paris angeboten wird, im Umfang von 30 LP belegt, wovon 5 LP auf die Erweiterung der französischen Sprach- und Kulturkompetenz entfallen.

Am Institut Polytechnique de Paris wird dann auch die Masterarbeit angefertigt. Empfohlen wird das Master-2-Programm in "Materials Science and Nano-Objects". Die Wahl der Kurse geschieht in Abstimmung mit den Programmbeauftragten.

Finanzierung

Teilnehmer am Doppelmasterprogramm erhalten während des Aufenthalts in Frankreich eine Mobilitätsbeihilfe der Deutsch-Französischen Hochschule in Höhe von 300 Euro pro Monat für zehn Monate.

Wir bemühen uns, die Programmteilnehmenden bei der Suche nach einer günstigen Unterkunft auf dem Campus des Institut Polytechnique de Paris zu unterstützen

Erasmus-Förderung

Studierende im Doppelmasterprogramm können während ihres Auslandsaufenthalts in Frankreich zusätzlich zur Mobilitätsbeihilfe der Deutsch-Französischen Hochschule auch eine finanzielle Förderung durch das Erasmus-Programm erhalten. Deren Höhe wird jedes Semester neu festgesetzt und betrug im Wintersemester 2019/2020 390 Euro pro Monat.

Bitte beachten Sie: Diese muss bereits bis zum 31.01. des Jahres, in dem der Auslandsaufenthalt stattfindet, beantragt werden! Der Antrag auf Teilnahme am Doppelmasterprogramm muss in diesem Fall bereits bis zum 10.03. anstatt bis zum 30.06. eingereicht werden. Im Fall einer bereits erfolgten bedingten Zulassung zum Doppelmasterprogramm muss diese bis zum 10.03. validiert oder durch eine reguläre Bewerbung ersetzt werden.

For physicists affected by the war in Ukraine