Frequently Asked Questions

if you have any questions, that are not answered here, have a look at our support wiki or write an email to zedv@physik.fu-berlin.de.

General Questions

Most information can be found in our wiki. For anything else you can write a mail to zedv@physik.fu-berlin.de or any one of our more specialised lists or give us a call.

We offer Linux and Windows desktops (in the theory and experimental groups respectively), data storage, a HPC-Cluster, Gitlab server, calendar, Jupyterhub and much more. If you think that something is missing, we are always looking forward to suggestions.

There are a lot of printers in the department and many groups have multiple printers, so it's a good idea to ask on which printers to print. The printers in the student computer pools are physik01 (bw), physik02 (bw) und physikcol02 (colour) and need a ZEDAT print account with credit, which can be charged via a terminal in the computer pools.

You can print on the new centrally managed printers via the followme queue. You can than collect your printer at any centrally managed printer after logging in with your ZEDAT account. To make that easier you can activate your door token for authentication at the printers at the Feinwerktechnik.

Documentation on using our printers with your own computers can be found in our Wiki.

Posters can be printer at the ZEDAT.

A list of software the department has licenses for can be found in the Wiki.

The computer pools are in 1.3.01 and 1.3.50 (wing 3, first floor, directly opposite to each other).

First of all, you should never reply to suspicious emails, click on links contained in such mails or open its attachments. Be careful with mails that you do not expect, that comes from people you have never had contact with or that are unusual for the sender. If in doubt, just ask us.

Emails can be very falsified very easily, since they are little more than text files in a certain format, that are exchanged between mail servers. A lot of servers are therefore extremely liberal in what they accept in their From header

Current malware can produce extraordinarily genuine looking phishing mails, but recently we had cases of easily-noticeable forgeries, notable for inconsistent names and addresses (John Doe <tom.smith@example.com>), usage of non-departmental mail addresses, linguistic mistakes and their content.

If you suspect to have received such mail, please send it to cybermobbing@physik.fu-berlin.de by first saving the mail (usually right click on the mail and Save as) and attaching it to your mail.

Accounts

You need a ZEDAT account to log into the machines at the department. Once you have your account it needs to be whitelisted for usage at the physics department. This happens automatically for students, for new employees we need a note from your group (the group leader, IT coordinator or secretary).

ZEDAT deletes accounts shortly after people leave FU. If you have ongoing projects that make it necessary for you to keep your account with us, your account can be converted into a project account for the duration of the project. Talk to your group leader and us about converting your account in time.

Linux / HPC

There are multiple places where you can store files. There is your home directory, /home/<username>, and "storage", available at /net/storage/<username>, where <username> is your username.

The quota for home is 2GB for students and 20GB for everyone else. Storage has a quota of 100GB for students and 500GB for everyone else.

The quota for the home directories is so small, because it is backed entirely by fast solid state drives whereas storage is backed by convential rotating rust. Just symlink directories in storage to your home if you need to access them more often.

We install a lot of packages by default, probably the package is already installed. If not and the software is packaged for Debian, its sufficient to write an email to linux@physik.fu-berlin.de with the package's name. You're also free to compile things to your hearts content in your home and the package managers of the usual programming languages have options to install packages to your home  (e.g. pip3 install --user).

Yes! Please find the information in our Wiki.

Usually, the reason is that you are over quota (you are using to much storage). The command  quota -s can tell you if that is the case. The quota for /home is 2GB for students and 20GB for group members.  The solution is to simply delete no longer needed files or move them to  /net/storage/<username>.

Windows

We don't support remote access to desktop machines, but we have a terminal server for this case. To request access write an email to win@physik.fu-berlin.de

Please write an email to win@physik.fu-berlin.de. We have already packaged most usualy software and it's enough to write an email and we will make the software available for you in the software center. In the case of unsualy software we will install it via remote support or come to your desktop.

E-Mail

No, we don't offer our own mail services, email is handled by ZEDAT. However, every user at the physics departments gets an email address of the form <username>@physik.fu-berlin.de, that is forwarded to the ZEDAT address. Furthermore we offer several mailing lists.

There are several mailing lists at the physics department. The most important ones are:

All lists are moderated. Please write your mails to the narrowest possible circle of recipients as the lists are extremely large. The all list should be used as rarely as possible. Mails with attachments larger than 500kB will be rejected outright.

The studies list is the right list for announcements about available master thesis topics and PhD positions.

Also, every group has their own group mailing list <groupname>@physik.fu-berlin.de.

CMS

You can request access to the CMS online. Simply choose the path of the website you need to access or write it into the note if it doesn't exist yet.

You can find documentation on the CMS at CEDIS (unfortunately only in German). It also helps to look at the other pages of the Physics deparment. The ag-beispiel page has a couple of examples.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Falls Sie Fragen haben, die hier nicht beatnwortet werden, schauen sie in unser Support-Wiki oder schreiben uns eine Mail an zedv@physik.fu-berlin.de.

Allgemeine Fragen

Die meisten Dinge finden Sie in unserem Wiki. Ansonsten können Sie eine Mail an an zedv@physik.fu-berlin.de oder eine unserer spezielleren Listen schreiben oder uns anrufen.

Wir bieten Linux- und Windowsarbeitsplätze (in den Theoriegruppen bzw. den Experimentellen Arbeitsgruppen), Storage für Daten, einen HPC-Cluster, Gitlabserver, Kalender, Jupyterhub und vieles mehr. Falls etwas fehlt freuen wir uns über Anregungen.

Eine Liste von Software für die der Fachbereich Lizenzen hat, gibt es im Wiki.

Es gibt viele Drucker am Fachbereich und die meisten Arbeitsgruppen haben mehrere Drucker, es hilft zu fragen auf welchen Druckern man drucken kann. Die Drucker in den studentischen Pools sind physik01 (SW), physik02 (SW) und physikcol02 (Farbe) und benötigen ein gedecktes ZEDAT-Printkonto, für das wir ein Aufladeterminal in den Poolräumen haben.

Auf den neuen zentral verwalteten Druckern kann man über die followme-Printqueue drucken. Der Ausdruck kann an jedem zentral verwaltenen Drucker abgeholt werden, wofür man sich an diesem mit seinem ZEDAT-Account anmelden muss. Um dies zu vereinfachen, kann man sich seinen Schließtoken bei der Feinwerktechnik zur Anmeldung freischalten lassen.

Dokumentation zum Drucken mit eigenen Rechnern gibt es in unserem Wiki.

Poster können bei der ZEDAT gedruckt werden.

Die PC-Pools sind in 1.3.01 und 1.3.50 (Trakt 3, der mit dem großen Hörsaal, 1. Stock, direkt gegenüber einander).

Zuallererst, auf verdächtige Mails sollte man nicht antworten, keine Links anklicken, die sie enthalten, oder ihre Anhänge öffnen. Seien Sie vorsichtig bei Mails, die Sie nicht erwarten oder die von Leuten kommen, mit denen sie noch nie Kontakt hatten oder die für diesen Absender ungewöhnlich sind. Fragen sie im Zweifelsfall bei uns nach.

Mails können sehr leicht gefälscht werden, da es sich im Grunde um nichts anderes als Textdateien in einem bestimmten Format handelt, die zwischen Mailserver ausgetauscht werden. Viele Server erlauben daher eine sehr freie Wahl dessen, was im Absender steht.

Phishing-Mails aktueller Malware können täuschend echt sein, in letzter Zeit sind jedoch auch auffällige, gefälschte Mails im Umlauf gewesen, die durch inkonsistente Namen und Mailadressen (z.B. Max Mustermann <hans.meier@beispiel.de>), die verwendung von Nicht-Fachbereichsadressen, sprachliche Fehler und Inhalt aufgefallen sind.

Falls Sie den Verdacht haben eine solche Mail bekommen zu haben, senden Sie sie bitte an cybermobbing@physik.fu-berlin.de indem Sie sie vorher abspeichern (üblicherweise per Rechtsklick auf die Mail und Speicher unter und als Anhang mitschicken.

Accounts

Um sich an den Rechnern am Fachbereich einzuloggen braucht man einen ZEDAT-Account. Diese Accounts müssen zur Benutzung am Fachbereich freigeschaltet werden, für Studierende geschieht dies automatisch, für Mitarbeiter muss uns dies durch jemanden aus der Arbeitsgruppe (Arbeitsgruppenleiter*in, EDV-Koordinator*in, Sekretariat) gemeldet werden.

Die ZEDAT löscht Accounts kurz nach dem Ausscheiden aus der Freien Universität. Falls sie noch laufende Projekte haben, die es notwendig machen, dass sie weiterhin einen Account bei uns benötigen, kann dieser für die Dauer des Projektes in einen Projektaccount umgewandelt werden. Sprechen sie dafür rechtzeitig mit ihrem Arbeitsgruppenleiter und melden sie sich bei uns.

Linux / HPC

Ja! Alle Informationen gibt es in unserem Wiki.

Wir installieren sehr viele Pakete per default, wahrscheinlich ist das Paket schon installiert. Falls nicht reicht es für Dinge die von Debian paketiert eine Mail an linux@physik.fu-berlin.de mit dem Paketnamen zu schreiben. Ansonten kann man sich im eigenen Home kompilieren was man möchte und die meisten Paketmanager üblicher Programmiersprachen haben die Möglichkeit Dinge ins eigene Home zu installieren (z.B. pip3 install --user).

Der Grund ist üblicherweise, dass man über Quota ist (zu viel Speicherplatz verbraucht). Der Aufruf von quota -s im Terminal verrät ob das der Fall ist. Die Quota liegt für /home für Studierende bei 2GB und Mitarbeiter bei 20GB. Einfach nicht länger gebrauchte Dateien löschen oder nach /net/storage/<username> verschieben.

Es gibt mehrere Orte an denen man Dateien ablegen kann, einmal das Heimverzeichnis /home/<username> und "storage" unter /net/storage/<username>, wobei <username> der eigene Benutzername ist.

Die Quota für das Heimverzeichnis ist 2GB für Studierende und 20GB für alle anderen. Storage hat eine Quota von 100GB for Studierende and 500GB für alle anderen Nutzer.

Die Quota für Heimverzeichnisse ist deswegen so niedrig, da es vollständig auf schnellen SSDs liegt, während storage auf normalem rotierenden Rost liegen. Falls Sie Daten von storage häufiger benötigen empfiehlt es sich ein symbolischen Link darauf im Heimverzeichnis anzulegen.

Windows

Schreiben sie einfach eine Mail an win@physik.fu-berlin.de. Die meiste übliche Software haben wir schon paketiert und es reicht eine Mail zu schreiben, wir schalten dann die Möglichkeit, sie über das Software Center zu installieren, frei. Im Fall von unüblicher Software installieren wir sie per Remote Support oder kommen vorbei. 

Wir unterstützen keinen Remote-Desktop-Zugriff auf die Arbeitsplatzrechner, aber wir haben für diesen Zweck einen Terminalserver. Um Zugriff dazu zu erhalten schreiben Sie eine Mail an win@physik.fu-berlin.de

E-Mail

Nein, wir bieten keinen eigenen Mailserver an, Email wird von der ZEDAT gemacht. Allerdings bekommt jeder Benutzer an der Physik eine Emailadresse der Form <username>@physik.fu-berlin.de, die an dessen ZEDAT-Adresse weitergeleitet wird. Außerdem bieten wir einige Mailinglisten für den Fachbereich Physik an.

Es gibt mehrere Mailinglisten am Fachbereich Physik. Die wichtigsten sind:

Alle Listen sind moderiert. Bitte schreiben Sie Mails an den engstmöglichen Empfängerkreis, da diese Listen sehr groß sind, die all-Liste sollte möglichst selten benutzt werden. Emails mit Anhängen über 500kB werden abgelehnt.

Die studies-Liste ist die richtige Liste für Ausschreibungen von Masterarbeitsthemen und Promotionsstellen.

Außerdem hat jede Arbeitsgruppe eine Gruppenmailingliste <gruppenname>@physik.fu-berlin.de.

CMS

Den Zugang kann man hier online beantragen. Einfach den entsprechenden Pfad der Website auswählen oder als Kommentar eintragen, falls es ihn noch nicht gibt.

Dokumentation zum CMS gibt es bei der CEDIS. Ansonsten hilft es sich umzuschauen wie es auf anderen Seiten der der Physik gemacht wird, die Seite ag-beispiel hat einige Beispiele.